Sausage Flowers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Good recipe and easy to change for your personal tastes. Main problem is that stars get soggy and a little weird underneath. To resolve this issue, toast the wrappers in the muffin tin for 5 minutes before filling is added to help the bottom of each star crisp up. Once you've added filling cook for additional 8-12 minutes...or until filling is warm, corners of stars are crispy and cheese is melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenG219
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Perfect as is, and deceptively simple. They look so pretty, you don't even want to eat them! Note: you don't need a mini muffin tin. I had a regular muffin tin, and it came out fine. I imagine the mini muffin tin just might make them look different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I liked the idea for this recipe. The wonton wrappers were not the best to use. I almost wished I could fry them and then fill them but baking them wasn't good. The filling is great we just used it as a dip for chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
was a big hit at the party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These were just OK - not bad, not awesome. I did pre-bake the wonton shells so they'd stay crunchy and that really helped; I recommend doing that if you make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
ok.... fresh out of the oven these were great. a little labor intensive but very flavorful. However they were not good after they cooled some because they got VERY soggy. I really liked the flavor and idea but think i will put them in tostitos scoops next time so there won't be a soggy issue when they are cold. iv baked alot of things in scoops and they never get soggy! thanks for the method!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent - delicious, different and a real "statement piece" on your appetizer table. Best yet, no rocket science involved to make them - no pointers needed, no changes. So easy you could almost do this with one arm tied behind your back. One suggestion - once these are baked remove them from the muffin tin, place them on a cookie sheet and put them back in the oven to crisp up the bottoms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
love this recipe and want this to work but I must be doing something wrong. I feel the are a little greasy when I remove them from muffin pan. help please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These were really good! And not too difficult to fix. Took them to a party where they all quickly disappeared. Several people asked for the recipe. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I was told about Sausage Flowers from a co-worker and promptly found the recipe here. It is a favorite at any gathering and I never have left-overs. A couple of things that I wanted to pass on are: (1) You can substitute Hot Sausage for Italian for more kick and use a mexican blend of shredded cheese. (2) The meat, cheese, and salsa mixture can be made in advance. You can take it to the party and just reheat in the microwave (to warm it) then put it in the wonton wraps and bake. (3) I have also made them 100% in advance, baked them for 5 minutes, then finished them for 5 at the party. Super easy, super delicious, and a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States