Sausage Flowers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
These are awesome! Hard to eat just one, or five.... I also have a similar recipe that was with a sausage coupon (don't remember what brand) and it was the cooked sausage, the cheese and ranch salad dressing. Doesn't sound like a good combination but it really is! And yes, bake the wontons in the oven first, empty, for about 5 mins and then fill and finish baking! Great recipe these Sausage Flowers, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Wagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
The Bunco ladies enjoyed these last night! I did pre-bake the wonton wrappers for about 8 minutes earlier in the day to make prep time easier. Also took the advice of another reviewer and pulsed the sausage in my food processor a couple of times, just to get an even crumble. I also mixed the sausage, salsa & cheese earlier in the day - then just popped it in the micro for a couple of minutes, filled the shells and re-heated for about 6 minutes, just to re-warm the shells. I got 34 out of this recipe instead of 24 - just a heads up for others. Nice appetizer, and will make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Good recipe and easy to change for your personal tastes. Main problem is that stars get soggy and a little weird underneath. To resolve this issue, toast the wrappers in the muffin tin for 5 minutes before filling is added to help the bottom of each star crisp up. Once you've added filling cook for additional 8-12 minutes...or until filling is warm, corners of stars are crispy and cheese is melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenG219
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Perfect as is, and deceptively simple. They look so pretty, you don't even want to eat them! Note: you don't need a mini muffin tin. I had a regular muffin tin, and it came out fine. I imagine the mini muffin tin just might make them look different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I liked the idea for this recipe. The wonton wrappers were not the best to use. I almost wished I could fry them and then fill them but baking them wasn't good. The filling is great we just used it as a dip for chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
was a big hit at the party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These were just OK - not bad, not awesome. I did pre-bake the wonton shells so they'd stay crunchy and that really helped; I recommend doing that if you make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
ok.... fresh out of the oven these were great. a little labor intensive but very flavorful. However they were not good after they cooled some because they got VERY soggy. I really liked the flavor and idea but think i will put them in tostitos scoops next time so there won't be a soggy issue when they are cold. iv baked alot of things in scoops and they never get soggy! thanks for the method!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent - delicious, different and a real "statement piece" on your appetizer table. Best yet, no rocket science involved to make them - no pointers needed, no changes. So easy you could almost do this with one arm tied behind your back. One suggestion - once these are baked remove them from the muffin tin, place them on a cookie sheet and put them back in the oven to crisp up the bottoms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
love this recipe and want this to work but I must be doing something wrong. I feel the are a little greasy when I remove them from muffin pan. help please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States