Sausage Egg Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These are a really good start and are easily modified to your tastes. Great way to use omelet ingredients in an easy-to-eat-and-reheat form. Also great for low-carbers. Might be fun to try using a mini-muffin pan. I used a whole pound of medium spice breakfast sausage, eight eggs (all I had), 1/3 cup milk, chopped bell pepper (had no green chiles), green onions, sharp cheddar cheese, and more garlic powder. Filled the muffin cups almost full and baked 35-40 minutes until nice and firm. Make sure to spray the pan with cooking spray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelly
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Thank you for posting this it was awesome! I am already thinking of ways to change it up with different Ingredients and topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Great idea, but very bland...I will use the spicier sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was ok. I added some shredded colby cheese and I used half bacon and half sausage (because I didn't have much of either). I think it would be better to use maybe a sharp cheddar cheese and to use a whole can of the green chilies; it was just a little bland. And also I would use the paper liners for the muffin cups - clean up was a bear!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I made these yesterday and they were delicious! As recommended by others I did modify the recipe. Instead I used egg whites (egg beaters), spicy sausage, and used salsa to give it a kick. I also added a little cheese on top. I really like that these are all protein and can be made in a healthy way for low carb diets. I had them left over for breakfast and snacks today! Can’t wait to make them again. ONLY WARNING: my muffin pan is still soaking from yesterday to try to get all the egg out…. GREASE GREASE GREASE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I made a half recipe of this (a little over a quarter of a pound) and used ground turkey that I spiced up to taste like ground pork breakfast sausage (sage, paprika, little red pepper flake, brown sugar, coriander, garlic powder, onion powder). I ended up leaving out the onion only because I figured that I had added onion powder and didn't want to cut up an onion just to use a little anyhow. I've made scrambled egg muffins before so I knew to grease the heckfire out of my tins before adding the egg mixture. To make it easier, I evenly portioned the cooked turkey meat into the six muffin tins, then poured the egg mix over each individual portion. This was really easy and well loved by all of us. Next time, I might add chopped ham and shredded cheese or do all chopped vegetables. GREAT kid pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made these pretty much as stated, except I used eggbeaters + two eggs. They were fabulous! Who would have thought that something so easy would be so good! My 21 month old gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I used turkey sausage instead and omitted the green chile peppers and it turned out great. This is an easy, low carb breakfast that I will definitely make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My only adjustment to this recipe was adding some green pepper. The muffins turned out very poorly, despite sticky to the recipe. The were very bland tasting and very dry. The idea behind this recipe is good, but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
These were great! I've made them twice and took them to two different church functions and I've been asked for the recipe quite a bit. I did make a change or two. I only had 10 eggs so I added 1/3 cup of milk. I used 1 lb turkey sausage to reduce the fat some. I have a stoneware muffin pan which cooks this wonderfully but you have to preheat the pan to keep the cook time at 20 minutes. If you don't preheat the pan, figure on doubling the cook time. I also topped them with cheese after they were out of the oven. My daughter is gluten free and these make a yummy breakfast treat for her. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States