Sausage Egg Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I make these often but I add cheese, spinach and 1 can Ro-Tel tomatoes. Just thaw and drain well one package chopped spinach. Made them several times for Bible Study and these were first to go each tim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babymama'10
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I am giving my version only 4 stars. here is why: Just made these this morning. I was looking for such a easy recipe. I had to adjust ingredients according to what I had on hand. I am on low cholesterol diet as well as diabetic diet. I used 9 egg whites and 3 whole eggs. Used my home made Italian sausage. Added jarred jalapeño because that was in the fridge. I wanted some vegetable so added yellow and orange sweet peppers. I would've put some cilantro if I had that but used celery leaves instead which I think contributed to the bitter taste. I also put in some shredded cheddar and mozzarella.Llow fat, of course. I'll nix the celery leaves next time. All in all it is a very excellent basic recipe. My toddler loved it as well. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymama'10

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made 6 muffins, using above ingredients (but 6 eggs) and my home-made spicy sausage. Instead of onion, I added chopped chives (from garden), tiny cubed cheddar, splash of milk to make them juicy/fluffy and 1/2 cup fried sweet jarred peppers. Next time I will use chopped green chilies like I have once before. They're both good. Maybe I'll use them together with Monterey Jack instead of cheddar! Oh, I added a sprinkling of parm cheese on top. Hubby and I loved them. He's taking them to work for breakfast! Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyl46

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
DELICIOUS! Although I can't emphasize enough the importance of using LOTS of cooking spray. Spray until it's enough and then spray again. I used half of a medium-large onion, sauteed, then added 6 thinly-sliced pieces of ham, chopped. I spooned this into the cups then added a layer of shredded cheddar. I added milk to the eggs to make it fluffier, and seasoned with Adobo seasoning (salt/pepper/garlic powder. My muffin tins were almost-full! If my kids get ahold of them, they could be gone by tomorrow! Next time I might increase the eggs to 18 and double the onion/ham/cheese, then use two muffin pans, to get 24 "muffins" that are not quite as full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Yum! My husband is doing no-carb but my daughter and I still eat carbs. Finding a breakfast we can all eat has been a bit of a challenge but these little muffins are just right. We added a little extra cheese because you can't have too much of that but other than that they were great. We may mix up the meat used, too. Bacon would be tasty. This only got 4 stars because cleaning the muffin pan was a huge pain. We might try muffin cups next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Personally, I would never make this recipe exactly as is...just a personal preference. However, it is a great basis and vehicle for all kinds of other ideas. You can pretty much put anything you want into these. I would definitely recommend cooking any veggies before they go in. It reduces the water content and adds much more flavor. I typically roast poblano peppers, onions, and garlic cloves before chopping it all up and adding it to the mix. I also use sliced sausage links instead of ground sausage, just a texture preference. But really, you can throw anything into this. I really want to try it with mushrooms, onions, and spinach! I've tried adding cheese a few times, but I just don't think it contributes enough extra flavor to really do much. Great general idea for a recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Made these for the first time this morning and they are a hit. I love them. I was afraid to try them after the clean up issues some were having, but I used a non stick pan and sprayed them well with Pam. No issues cleaning up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Gretna, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I like this recipe because it is so versatile! Our favorite is bacon-bell pepper-green onion. They keep very well in the fridge for 2-3 days; just heat 40 seconds in microwave for TWO muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Add pancakes! I made pancakes and cut into pieces and placed at the bottom of each muffin with a little syrup. Then I poured the egg/sausage mix over top and cooked as directed. Tasted wonderful and was the first thing gone at the brunch potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These are a really good start and are easily modified to your tastes. Great way to use omelet ingredients in an easy-to-eat-and-reheat form. Also great for low-carbers. Might be fun to try using a mini-muffin pan. I used a whole pound of medium spice breakfast sausage, eight eggs (all I had), 1/3 cup milk, chopped bell pepper (had no green chiles), green onions, sharp cheddar cheese, and more garlic powder. Filled the muffin cups almost full and baked 35-40 minutes until nice and firm. Make sure to spray the pan with cooking spray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States