Sausage Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is pretty good. I am deathly allergic to green chiles so take note I subbed in a green pepper. A little underwhelming at first but gets better as you work through it. I upped the mushrooms a bit, used an additional few ounces of oyster mushrooms. Next time I'll use a much better sausage, this is worth the good stuff. Also, the cooking time is a bit light, at one hour it was just done, a somewhat larger pan would remedy that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Excellent recipe. I made exactally as called for. Everyone liked it but I found that I had to cook it for about 20 minutes longer than called for. 70 minutes total. Maybe next time I will separate into two smaller dishes and make it a little thinner to cook faster. Nice to have a make ahead that didn't have a bunch of bread. We made it the night before and served with waffles and a spiral ham for Christmas Brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Great for any celebration morning!We modified it to suit ourselves---used a dozen eggs, skipped the flour mixture altogether, no chili peppers,and added about a half teaspoon of paprika. Serves 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Rave reviews from a mix of guests. I followed other reviewers' advice and only used 1/2 lb cheese. 1 lb would have been a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Wonderful for Christmas Breakfast. I stuck to the recipe, but omitted the mushrooms (my husband doesn't like them) and substituted jalapenos for the green chiles. We like it spicy! I also divided the mixture and baked it in two 9x9 pans for about 45 minutes. Turned out great! We all went back for seconds (& thirds!) Also, my husband dipped his in spicy barbecue sauce and liked the additional flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlett

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Versailles, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this for a brunch and everyone loved it!! I took the tips of some of the reviewers. I added ham, red and green peppers, and shredded hashbrowns. I subsituted ricotta for the cottage cheese. Instead of the montery jack I used Mexican 4 cheese and sharp cheddar. I did not make the biscuit mixture. Also I added 3 more eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! I love that it is such an easy/versatile recipe that you can tweak and do with as you please. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Excellent recipe! My changes: substituted turkey breakfast sausage, whole wheat flour, fresh green chilis, and Emmenthaler cheese. Tasted delicious! A great way to get more protein in the most important meal of the day. I also did not refrigerate overnight, and it turned out just fine for me. Maybe I'm missing something and it would fluff up even more with an overnight preparation, but it was just the right consistency and juiciness/firmness when I whipped it up and then put it right into the oven. Great, will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
AWESOME!!! This casserole is really amazing. I am not one to stick to a recipe. In this case, I didn't follow the directions exactly. I used 1 lb of sausage, 1 small onion (sauteed) instead of the green onions and I didn't use mushrooms. I also used full fat, large curd cottage cheese. This recipe is wonderful. Even my hubby who doesn't like green chilis gobbled this right up. Will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Great recipe! I like mine spicy so I think I will add hot sausage next time or some hot sauce to the mix. I love that you can make this ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefmef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States