Sausage Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This casserole turned out amazing! I did not let it sit overnight as suggested and it was still to die for. I did not use the bread mixture as other reviewers did not recommend. Also, I placed the mixture in two 9"x13" dishes, approximately 1" deep and cooked at the suggested time. Both dishes turned out golden brown and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great dish! I used seasoned salt per another users suggestion and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Great Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This egg/sausage casserole was very good and filling! I served it for several overnight guests and everyone commented how good it was. My preschooler even liked it. I tried keeping to the recipe as much as I could, but I used what I had on hand. I believe the main ingredients in this recipe make it good, regardless of what you add to it. I used an entire 1ib pkg mild sausage. I used 1 small onion, I didn't have mushrooms but did have a red bell pepper on hand so I added that. I only had mild cheddar so I threw that in with a little mozzarella I had left. I didn't have peppers, but wouldn't had added anyway. I did add a little salt & pepper, though I doubt salt was needed as sausage gave it a good flavor. I used a pastry blender for the flour mixture. I baked it 40 min with my pampered chef 9x13 and let it stand the 10 min, came right out. Don't be afraid to make the recipe your own! Thank you for sharing the recipe!! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Very good but not over the top to deserve a 5*. I made this exactly as written but would not do so again. At least read the first 10 most helpful reviews as they capture three issues repeatedly stated by many reviewers: (i) bland, (ii) very cheesy, and (iii) cooking time. I’m in the camp of this being slightly bland and would adjust ingredients next go round. However, I believe this is a matter of personal preference as some people prefer less spicy food. Like others, ½ lb. cheese vs. 1 lb. is adequate unless you’re a cheeseaholic. Especially take note of needing it to cook longer as it was mushy & runny at 50 minutes other than about 2-3” from around the edges of the 9 x 13 inch baking dish. I believe the cooking time in such dish is 60-70 minutes rather than 40-50. A big plus is the ability to make this the night before! We craved something like pancakes or biscuits when eating this dish but maybe it was caused by the “flour mixture” being incorporated into the recipe, but nothing sweet to go with it. We drizzled some pure maple syrup on top, and that satisfied our craving. Plan to omit the flour mixture next try, and aim to make a healthier version. Thanks KNITWIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is a great use-what-you-have recipe! I was looking for a bread-less egg casserole to use up some leftovers I had on hand. I didn't have any breakfast sausage so I subbed ground beef, used cheddar instead of jack, a big dollop of salsa instead of chiles, added some baby spinach & a chopped tomato along with the mushrooms and green onions before adding to the egg/cheese mixture. It came out great. The texture is so light and fluffy! I'm sure it is even better with sausage. I don't think it is lacking anything without the bread, would be great for those cutting carbs! Thanks KNITWIT, love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I left out the butter and crust. Used turkey sausage added cooked green peppers instead of the chile peppers. And poured approx 1/4 cup of mixture in a greased muffin tin and baked right away. Perfect for a quick individual breakfast and they freeze well. This recipe made approx 24 muffin sized servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Used as a base recipe. Used 1 lb sage pork sausage. Fried a green bell pepper and one small white onion in with the sausage. Didn't include biscuit mix or green chile peppers. The cottage cheese in this is fantastic. Will make over and over again. Hoping leftovers are as delicious as fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Zanoni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was a wonderful casserole. I halved it, but used 6 eggs, turned out great & has the airy texture of a souffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe is awesome. I made some changes the second time I made it and it was still great. I used ham in place of the sausage. Didn't have any green chillies so replaced with chopped banana pepper rings, used canned mushrooms and cheddar cheese; and omitted the flour, salt and baking powder. The baking time is closer to 70 minutes made according to the recipe or with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States