Sausage Cornbread Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
This is my kind of recipe...I LOVE IT !! Thanks, I wanted something a little different tonight. I will definitely make this again...it's going in my Recipe Box !! No sour cream here and I chose to leave out the sausage. I also added some other things for my taste. I added a 4 oz. jar of pimentos and a 4 oz. can of green chiles... both drained, also added 1c. of sugar and 2T of Emeril's Rustic Rub to add some kick to it. I was pleased with the result....next time I think I'll use more of the mix than I did this time (used one small package...2 would be better!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This is easy and fun to make, and even more fun to eat! It rated a rave from my bride, who isn't crazy about cornbread at all. With the cheese in the center, it also has some kid appeal. It was a real hit in this home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Very good. I did not find the buttermilk mix so I made the corn bread according to the recipe box and substituted buttermilk for the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italian Mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This is a pretty good weeknight dinner recipe. It did taste like a brunch dish and was a little too crumbly to take "on the go," but overall, very tasty. It was missing a spice or something though. My husband ate it with salsa, maybe that was it. I did add a 1/2 tsp. cayenne because we like spicy sausage dishes, and it was a nice combination with the other flavors. I will make again and maybe add a little garlic powder??? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecolter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This recipe was pretty tasty--a nice combination of savory and sweet. I'm assuming that the recipe meant a complete cornbread mix like Jiffy with exactly a cup and a half in the package, so that's what I used. A caution: I would wait at LEAST 15 minutes before cutting. 20 might be better. When it is too hot, the cornbread consistency is mushy--kind of like a custard. It firms up to be a more bread-like consistency only after it has cooled somewhat. I enjoyed this a lot more when it had cooled to not-quite room temperature. I also just about had a heart attack once I started to make the recipe and read the calorie count, so I was glad to have used light sour cream, skim milk, and 2% sharp cheddar (and only about 1 1/4 cups of it). You don't need a full two cups of cheese to taste it plenty. If I make this again, I'll use turkey breakfast sausage as well. Overall this was a really tasty breakfast, and I'll probably take the rest to work for lunch this week. My 1 year old also liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Pretty decent taste. I used nutrela instead of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This made for a nice brunch with some fresh fruits on the side. I did change one thing - I used Colby Jack instead of cheddar simply because it's what I had. I doubt that made much difference though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I love this recipe. It is very tasty! I use it for dinner with a salad for my family of four and then use the left overs for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Tasty and simple. Wife and son both liked it. They said I could make it again. So 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I have now made twice. First time, I used canned corn and mild green chilies and served with a dollop of sour cream, guacamole and salsa on the side. A big hit. Next, I used italian sausage, canned corn and sauted red and green bell peppers instead of chili and served with warm marina sauce to top. It was like more like a polenta meal and so much easier. Both times I used Marie Callendar's brand corn bread mix. It a nice change of pace from the usual rice or potato casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Chef John's Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States