Sausage Cornbread Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
This is my kind of recipe...I LOVE IT !! Thanks, I wanted something a little different tonight. I will definitely make this again...it's going in my Recipe Box !! No sour cream here and I chose to leave out the sausage. I also added some other things for my taste. I added a 4 oz. jar of pimentos and a 4 oz. can of green chiles... both drained, also added 1c. of sugar and 2T of Emeril's Rustic Rub to add some kick to it. I was pleased with the result....next time I think I'll use more of the mix than I did this time (used one small package...2 would be better!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This is easy and fun to make, and even more fun to eat! It rated a rave from my bride, who isn't crazy about cornbread at all. With the cheese in the center, it also has some kid appeal. It was a real hit in this home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Very good. I did not find the buttermilk mix so I made the corn bread according to the recipe box and substituted buttermilk for the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italian Mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This is a pretty good weeknight dinner recipe. It did taste like a brunch dish and was a little too crumbly to take "on the go," but overall, very tasty. It was missing a spice or something though. My husband ate it with salsa, maybe that was it. I did add a 1/2 tsp. cayenne because we like spicy sausage dishes, and it was a nice combination with the other flavors. I will make again and maybe add a little garlic powder??? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecolter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This recipe was pretty tasty--a nice combination of savory and sweet. I'm assuming that the recipe meant a complete cornbread mix like Jiffy with exactly a cup and a half in the package, so that's what I used. A caution: I would wait at LEAST 15 minutes before cutting. 20 might be better. When it is too hot, the cornbread consistency is mushy--kind of like a custard. It firms up to be a more bread-like consistency only after it has cooled somewhat. I enjoyed this a lot more when it had cooled to not-quite room temperature. I also just about had a heart attack once I started to make the recipe and read the calorie count, so I was glad to have used light sour cream, skim milk, and 2% sharp cheddar (and only about 1 1/4 cups of it). You don't need a full two cups of cheese to taste it plenty. If I make this again, I'll use turkey breakfast sausage as well. Overall this was a really tasty breakfast, and I'll probably take the rest to work for lunch this week. My 1 year old also liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Pretty decent taste. I used nutrela instead of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This made for a nice brunch with some fresh fruits on the side. I did change one thing - I used Colby Jack instead of cheddar simply because it's what I had. I doubt that made much difference though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I love this recipe. It is very tasty! I use it for dinner with a salad for my family of four and then use the left overs for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Tasty and simple. Wife and son both liked it. They said I could make it again. So 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I have now made twice. First time, I used canned corn and mild green chilies and served with a dollop of sour cream, guacamole and salsa on the side. A big hit. Next, I used italian sausage, canned corn and sauted red and green bell peppers instead of chili and served with warm marina sauce to top. It was like more like a polenta meal and so much easier. Both times I used Marie Callendar's brand corn bread mix. It a nice change of pace from the usual rice or potato casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Chef John's Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States