Sausage Coddle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
everyone loved, used newcastle instead of guinness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this for guests for St. Patrick's Day - everyone had seconds and said it was really good. I used Italian sausages as it was all I had on hand, and I think that was the key to the flavor. I know it's not very authentic :) but plain pork sausages would have been too bland as others have said. We also grilled the sausages outside (because the weather was cooperating), and sauteed the onions in the bacon drippings before assembling (as I saw on another version of this recipe). Last tweak - about halfway through baking it looked like the top layer of potatoes was starting to dry out so I spritzed them with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Wonderfully flavorful! I prepared as written using smoked sausage (mix of regular and turkey) and we loved it - tempted to lick the plate clean! I would suggest 1/4" slice on potatoes; mine were about 3/8" and it required longer baking time. Serve in a bowl with bread or rolls to soak up the delicious broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I have been making coddles for a while now, but this one takes the cake! The addition of carrots and finishing with cream are great touches. I did reverse the beer/bullion ratio; as much as a love a good stout, it seems a cooked stout is a touch too strong for our palates at home. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I love Coddle. We layer it in a slow cooker. We layer Potatoes then onions, salt and Pepper, Sausages and then Bacon on top. Then we pour Chicken Broth on top around 2 cups. Let it cook all day. My children and husband think this is the best cold day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and found it to be wonderful! I made it a second time, minus the brew and used beef broth in stead. It too was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Love it! I sauté all the veggies and meat ahead of time then mix it all up and put it in the oven for about a half hour. I also use whole milk instead of cream, use apple chicken sausage and turkey bacon to cut down on calories. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made instead with breakfast sausages, broken up bacon strips, and 2 cups beef broth instead of broth/beer; all 5 members of the family loved it, kids and adults! Delicious comfort food on a freezing St. Patrick's Day. Was more popular than the already well-loved corned beef and cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Delicious! I layered this in my crockpot: potatoes, carrots, onions, sausage and bacon on top. Poured liquids in and cooked for 6 hours on high. I substituted chicken broth and regular beer, served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Sorry forgot to add to the earlier review that i also subbed beef broth for the Guinness and coconut milk for the cream as son is dairy allergic. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States