Sausage Coddle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I love Coddle. We layer it in a slow cooker. We layer Potatoes then onions, salt and Pepper, Sausages and then Bacon on top. Then we pour Chicken Broth on top around 2 cups. Let it cook all day. My children and husband think this is the best cold day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This wasn't that labor intensive at all. But 3 layers of layers, didn't do it in my 9x13 when I doubled the recipe for my family. I used a larger pan and divided the layers in to 2 layers of layers. I hope you got that ;-) I thought the dish was okay, not totally my cup of tea but it was okay. The stout was something that was a bit put off-ish in my book as well as my son's....but my husband and my 3 girls really liked it. I'll make again for them, but not for myself. However, if your a true guinness lover, then the recipe is totally for you. If you're not into guinness or don't have a liking for beer...then it's not. What I did like about the recipe, was the carrots and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
We found this recipe to be a HUGE disappointment and a waste of Guiness. I couldn't even tweak it into tasting good. The broth must be thickened or it's just soup, and the flavor left a lot to be desired. Maybe it's because I love the Coddle at Gogarty's in Dublin, nothing else will ever be good to me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Festie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this for guests for St. Patrick's Day - everyone had seconds and said it was really good. I used Italian sausages as it was all I had on hand, and I think that was the key to the flavor. I know it's not very authentic :) but plain pork sausages would have been too bland as others have said. We also grilled the sausages outside (because the weather was cooperating), and sauteed the onions in the bacon drippings before assembling (as I saw on another version of this recipe). Last tweak - about halfway through baking it looked like the top layer of potatoes was starting to dry out so I spritzed them with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
everyone loved, used newcastle instead of guinness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and found it to be wonderful! I made it a second time, minus the brew and used beef broth in stead. It too was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I have been making coddles for a while now, but this one takes the cake! The addition of carrots and finishing with cream are great touches. I did reverse the beer/bullion ratio; as much as a love a good stout, it seems a cooked stout is a touch too strong for our palates at home. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
It smelled delicious but the taste was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
had a strange aftertaste and seemed to be too much prep work for what it was worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Sorry forgot to add to the earlier review that i also subbed beef broth for the Guinness and coconut milk for the cream as son is dairy allergic. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States