Sausage Cheese Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
COOK THE SAUSAGE FIRST!!!! Then add it to the other ingredients...they're yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I've made these for 30 years, and twice in the past two weeks for parties. They always disappear! I never cook the sausage first, nor do I add baking powder. I also use less water. be sure to use hot sausage and sharp cheddar - the flavor is much better. Make the balls no larger than a quarter and the sausage will cook fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
THESE WERE A BIG HIT AT OUR CHRISTMAS PARTY. THEY ARE MUCH LIGHTER THEN THE USUAL RECIPE I MAKE. I USED JIFFY MIX AS THE BISCUT MIX. WE WILL DIFFENATELY BE USING THIS RECIPE AGAIN, AND AGAIN, AND AGAIN...... HAPPY HOLLY-DAYS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Been making these for years they are always great; and a big hit at parties. You do not need to cook the sausage first, it cooks in the oven when you bake them. Like others say, use hot sausage and sharp cheese. I even add more red pepper flakes. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I modified this just a little and they turned out fantastic. I precooked homeground spicy sausage till just about fully cooked, cut the baking mix to 1 & 1/2 cups, and added milk a tablespoon at a time to help with mixing. I used a measuring spoon to dip out heaping tablespoons and put them on a rack on a foil lined baking sheet, baked at 350 for about 25 minutes. They disappeared way faster than I could fix them! I tried them with the original recipe first, a little dry and heavy, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
made these for a snack at work very good I did cook the sausage 1st and drained to reduce the fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
These were not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyw5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
My mom has this recipe and we own our own butcher shop and she uses our Italian sausage meat in them and they are always the first thing gone when we bring them somewhere
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Had to alter this, used 1 cup shredded mozzarela, 2-1/4" slices of Velvetta in pieces, 1/2 lb. bob evans sausage, creole seasoning, garlic powder, 1/2 c. water. And we dipped them in sweet hot mustard......yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
i used turkey breakfast sausages, i added also salt pepper, garlic salt, rosemary, and Italian seasoning, turned out great, but next time i think i will add more biscuit mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States