Sausage Cheese Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was a good dish, especially when served with warm syrup. I will definitely try to use the self-rising cornmeal next time though, to fluff it up and make it easier to spread in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I use Martha White buttermilk cornbread mix. I also use HOT sausage and sharp cheddar cheese. It's wonderful my boys love it they are 18 and 25. My girls who are 12 and 20 love it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Really good. Made this for dinner using a 9 inch pie plate and it was the perfect size for the amount of cornbread mix (I used a box of jiffy cornbread mix for the cornmeal and added ~1/4 cup skim milk). Used hot sausage for a kick, and low-fat sharp cheddar. Next time I will try turkey sausage for less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This was really good, only it needed some adjustments and it would be nice if the original author would clarify some stuff in the recipe. First off, I tried it AS written, 1 1/2 cups of cornmeal + 2 1/4 tsp baking powder + 1 tsp salt, plus the wet ingredients. I ended up using a full 14oz can of corn and I still didn't have enough batter. I added a 1/2 cup of milk and another 1/2 cup of corn meal and 1/2 tsp of baking powder and that gave me enough batter for the recipe. I also sauteed the onion and bell pepper with the sausage and mixed a drained can of chopped chilis into the batter. In the end it turned out REALLY yummy, but it needed the extra batter ingredients. It would be nice to know if the self rising corn meal needs to be prepared as per the box directions or not, as I used this recipe b/c I was out of the Jiffy stuff and only had regular cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Very good! I was worried because I didn't have self-rising cornmeal, but it turned out fine with regular cornbread. I also added chopped jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Self Rising Cornmeal Substitution: 1 Cup of Self-Rising Cornmeal = 1 cup regular corn meal + 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder + 1/2 tsp. salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I read the reviews and made more cornbread mix up-enough for a 9 x 12 pan. Also added a can of green chiles-chopped,a large cream corn,and Louisiana hot sauce to taste in the cornbread batter. This is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Okay I totally changed this recipe, but it turned out excellent. I am going to republish my "new" version. I used Bisquick instead of Corn Bread mix, I added hot pepper sauce to the batter. I used a shredded Taco cheese mixture of Cheddar, pepperjack, and Asadero Cheeses in the store bought package. And served it with warm pizza sauce for dipping. It was fantastic. Glad I tried it that way and hope you all do the same!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Yummy! I think the problem some of you are having is that I think she means that you should use 1 and a half cups of the dry cornbread mix, and make it up according to the box? Personally I used 1c cornmeal (not instant), 1c buttermilk, 1/2c flour, 2tsp baking powder, 1/2tsp baking sodea, 2 eggs, and 1/4c vegetable oil. This made enough to fill a 8x8 pan and serve about 6 people. Cornbread could have used more vegetables. Probably a large can of corn and maybe 2 bell pepers and a chili pepper would kick it up. But that's just my preference - good like it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
Flavors were good, but the cornbread part needs some work. I didn't have self-rising cornmeal, so I substituted 1 1/4 cups of cornmeal, 1/4 cup of flour, 1 tablespoon baking powder and 1 teaspoon of salt. The batter was both stiff and skimpy. If I try this again, I'll use 1 1/2 cups of cornmeal and 1/2 cup of flour, and add a spash or two of milk to make it more spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States