Sausage Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I love this recipe! Didn't change it at all. They were delicious and fast to make. Had enough to freeze for later. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made this recipe using 1 lb of plain breakfast sausage (with a higher fat content) and 1 lb of hot breakfast sausage (lower fat content). I used the given amounts of pancake mix, cheese, onions, and celery, then added about 1 teaspoon of garlic salt and a couple shakes of paprika. If you're using pre-shredded cheese, it helps to chop it up a little before mixing it in. Lastly, I peeled one apple and grated it finely into the mixture before mixing. It gives them a nice flavor and helps add some moisture, so that is an alternative to eggs/milk if your mixture doesn't seem to stay together well. I cooked them on a rack for 21 minutes, then took them out and flipped them and broiled them on low for 2 minutes to help the bottoms get a slightly crispy texture to match the tops. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
These sausage balls were pretty good. I decided to give this particular one a try since the base recipe included the addition of celery and garlic powder. The texture of the celery was nice, but at times I found myself getting too much of that celery flavor which kind of overpowered the pork. Next time, I may cut back or dice them up even more. I tried the recipe this time with regular pork sausage, but when making sausage balls, I like to switch it up and use maple flavored. I also had some left over jack cheese that I threw in as well with the cheddar. I served them on top of some jelly that I had in the fridge. Overall, these are perfect appetizers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made these for a family get together and everyone love them . Ill be bring these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerald Cheek

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Excellent! I used Nature's Promise Spiced Apple Chicken Sausage and Nacho Shredded Cheese. I also used my KitchenAid mixer which made it super easy to blend everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I was very good! My family will not eat anything they can see such as chunks of onion,celery, so I substituted onion powder, garlic powder and a dash of Chipotle pepper seasoning. That is the only change I made. I would definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by velma
Home Town: Downsville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
After reading a lot of different recipes and reviews for sausage balls, these are the ones I made. Because we like spicy, I used one lb. of Jimmy Dean's sage sausage and one lb. of hot Italian. Based on other reviews I let the meat come to room temp before attempting to mix. I mixed everything in my KA mixer with the dough hook and that worked great. I shaped the balls with my latex glove-covered hands and I baked on a sprayed rack over foil-lined jelly roll pans. Perfect. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
These are really good but very different from the sausage balls I usually make at holidays. Amazingly, the onion, celery, and garlic powder totally change the flavor. I wish these had a different name so that people wouldn't expect the traditional sausage ball. I needed to cut the cooking time just a little. They tended to drain out the cheese and get a crispy bottom if left even a bit too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
My hubby said these were just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
IMPORTANT: let sausage and cheese reach room temperature before you start. Buy a brand of sausage that doesn't have a lot of fat. This should take care of most of the negative reviews pasted here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fyffe, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States