Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Overall, I think this recipe makes a good template for a sausage casserole and would make it again with a few tweaks "to taste". As it is, it is a little bit on the bland side, great for pickier eater though so if there are people eating who like milder flavors, this is great. I made a few changes to test try and found I like the more robust flavor better. I used sharp cheddar instead of mild cheddar. I also sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top to make a crust. I increased the recipe to 8 eggs with a pre-baked the potato shell as previous reviewers suggested with shredded hash browns. I also added diced green and orange bell peppers. By mistake I bought a pineapple cottage cheese and had my daughter measure and add that ingredient. She put half of the amount in before I realized the mistake and ended up substituting the other half of the cottage cheese with plain Greek yogurt. The basic recipe is pretty forgiving, and to cut the sweetness of the pineapple, I added a little dash of hot sauce. This version turned out pretty spectacular. As I said, the original recipe is a good starter template for a custom sausage casserole. I just like a brighter flavor. I would suggest adding fresh herbs to garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Made at Joey and Nicole's for Easter, 2015
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Was really good, and not overly dense. Did make few changes though..... Since the recipe did not mention adding seasoning, we added a little salt, pepper, and a touch of cayenne. Also minced some green bell pepper. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This was easy to make and the whole family enjoyed it. I used frozen hashbrowns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was delicous. I think it needed more sausage. My kids an husband asked for seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Like others, I read the reviews before attempting the recipe. We love mushrooms and green peppers, so I sautéed some along with the onions and used venison sausage. Also used a package of frozen spinach-thawed and squeezed the water out thoroughly. I split the recipe between two casserole dishes, baked one and put the other in the freezer. It will go in the rotation, per request of DH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I didn't change anything and it was stupendous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoustonLil
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
our family loved this casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyp1943

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Unbelievably easy and so delicious!! I don't cook very much so the prep time for me was a little longer; mostly due to triple checking the directions, but I could not be happier with the outcome. I did modify the recipe ever so slightly -- adding some chopped kale and substituting the mild cheddar with sharp, for that little extra zing of flavor I enjoy. I could not believe something this good came out of MY kitchen!! My husband and I, who rarely eat second helpings of anything, both raced back to the kitchen for more!! I will definitely be making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Used 7 eggs and added mushrooms and a jar of pimientos. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoonOfArc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States