Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I have made this a couple times now with a few tweaks and everyone enjoys it. The main thing I do differently is I just slice up baked potatoes and line the bottom of the greased pan, season well, and bake until lightly brown while I cook the sausage, onion, and green peppers (my addition). To assist with browning I use a light mist of cooking spray on the potatoes. I stick with 6 eggs and slightly less than 16oz of cottage cheese, but I use a 9x9 instead of 9x13. It does take longer to bake than recipe calls for in my oven as well. Next time I might even add some mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
It was very good but bland. I added a lot of spices too. Next time I will add more. Husband and son loved it though. I also made a seoond batch with sauted mushrooms and onions. I liked that one even better and it is vegetarian.I think it was the teriyaki sauce that I used on the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Love it a recipe with real ingredients nothing synthetic - YUM!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe is simple and awesome. I followed it to exactly as stated above, except half monteray jack, half cheddar. I could bump one of these out in minutes if I had a food processor but I only had a hand grater but it was worth the work. If you're on a diet then keep shopping for a recipe. Perfect superbowl food. It would also be good for a family breakfast. I doubled the recipe and Im freezing one, see how it turns out after being thawed. If I remember I'll post back about my frozen results. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was good. I would add more potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for: simple to put together and delicious! Made it a day ahead and cooked the next morning. I added diced red and yellow peppers with the onions and cooked them with the sausage. Perfect for brunch for a group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PSBIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Not bad, but a bit bland, and I used onion powder (we don't do onions much in our house), garlic powder, and salt and pepper both with the eggs and the hash browns. I also, as did others, baked the hash browns separately before adding in the egg. I did use homemade shredded potatoes--it gave me an excuse to use my new KA shreder attachment. :) In my experience, however, I usually have to bake potatoes much longer than most recipes indicate. I baked them the night before for 30 mins, then this morning poured the egg over and baked for almost an hour. This worked well. Our only complaint, as I said before, is that it's still somewhat bland so we used ketchup. I'd add more spices next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Fantastic - I shredded the onion with the food processor before the potatoes. Added a bit of onion to the crust. Baked the crust for 1/2 an hour by itself. Added the rest. It was awesome. My two picky kids didn't even ask for ketchup, and my picky husband who usually eats only a little had FOUR peices! A win all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I thought this recipe was really, really good. The only thing I did different was add some garlic salt and pepper to the potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Buckeye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
A winning recipe with the whole family - from the one year old all the way to dad! Make this with cottage cheese with chives. Great flavor, easy and healthy!! I typically use frozen shredded potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 640) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States