Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Not bad, but a bit bland, and I used onion powder (we don't do onions much in our house), garlic powder, and salt and pepper both with the eggs and the hash browns. I also, as did others, baked the hash browns separately before adding in the egg. I did use homemade shredded potatoes--it gave me an excuse to use my new KA shreder attachment. :) In my experience, however, I usually have to bake potatoes much longer than most recipes indicate. I baked them the night before for 30 mins, then this morning poured the egg over and baked for almost an hour. This worked well. Our only complaint, as I said before, is that it's still somewhat bland so we used ketchup. I'd add more spices next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Fantastic - I shredded the onion with the food processor before the potatoes. Added a bit of onion to the crust. Baked the crust for 1/2 an hour by itself. Added the rest. It was awesome. My two picky kids didn't even ask for ketchup, and my picky husband who usually eats only a little had FOUR peices! A win all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I thought this recipe was really, really good. The only thing I did different was add some garlic salt and pepper to the potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Buckeye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
A winning recipe with the whole family - from the one year old all the way to dad! Make this with cottage cheese with chives. Great flavor, easy and healthy!! I typically use frozen shredded potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Excellent recipe I will make this again. Made for an office pot luck and not a scrap left! I used the fresh shredded potatoes from the market and I also added my own fresh herbs to the sausage. Thank you this will come in handy for get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
On Saturday night around 7pm I remembered I had to take something for a Sunday School breakfast the next morning. Since I was already out and near a grocery store I googled and found this recipe. I was short on time and it was getting late so I opted for frozen hash browns, but I let them thaw before using, and changed nothing else on the recipe. I made it that night (it was so easy), stored it in the fridge and cooked it the next morning. It was a hit with not a bite left! I had 3 people ask me for the recipe before Sunday School was over! This will be my "go to" breakfast casserole from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I'm not a big fan of breakfast casserole. But this was good. I enjoyed it a lot. Small changes -sauted onion with sausage. -Prebaked potatoes in butter. -(Had no cottage cheese, so) used cream cheese instead. -(Had no jumbo eggs, so) used 8 large eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
VERY GOOD,BUT A LITTLE RICH. MAYBE CUT BACK ON THE CHEESE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I didn't have any potatoes so I used diced hash browns instead. It was simple to put together and fairly quick. We both enjoyed this very much. I know the leftovers will reheat really nicely in the nuker. This will definitely be made again and probably I'll use the hash browns again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Great with maple syrup sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States