Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I love that you can use pre-shredded potatoes and that it can be made the night before and baked in the morning. The kids loved it as much as the adults and the chef can join the party for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I thought this was an excellent base to which a person could make changes. I used it to get a good start on a breakfast casserole that, with my changes, my friends raved about at the brunch I took it to. I upped the hashbrowns by a cup, I used 8 eggs instead of 6, I used 8 ounces of sharp cheddar rather than 12 of mild, I changed the yellow onion to green onion, and I added diced red and orange peppers. I added some extra flavor with dill and garlic salt. For the potato layer, I added salt and pepper along with the butter. I add all of my other changes to the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taliesin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Overall, I think this recipe makes a good template for a sausage casserole and would make it again with a few tweaks "to taste". As it is, it is a little bit on the bland side, great for pickier eater though so if there are people eating who like milder flavors, this is great. I made a few changes to test try and found I like the more robust flavor better. I used sharp cheddar instead of mild cheddar. I also sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top to make a crust. I increased the recipe to 8 eggs with a pre-baked the potato shell as previous reviewers suggested with shredded hash browns. I also added diced green and orange bell peppers. By mistake I bought a pineapple cottage cheese and had my daughter measure and add that ingredient. She put half of the amount in before I realized the mistake and ended up substituting the other half of the cottage cheese with plain Greek yogurt. The basic recipe is pretty forgiving, and to cut the sweetness of the pineapple, I added a little dash of hot sauce. This version turned out pretty spectacular. As I said, the original recipe is a good starter template for a custom sausage casserole. I just like a brighter flavor. I would suggest adding fresh herbs to garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Made at Joey and Nicole's for Easter, 2015
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Was really good, and not overly dense. Did make few changes though..... Since the recipe did not mention adding seasoning, we added a little salt, pepper, and a touch of cayenne. Also minced some green bell pepper. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This was easy to make and the whole family enjoyed it. I used frozen hashbrowns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was delicous. I think it needed more sausage. My kids an husband asked for seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Like others, I read the reviews before attempting the recipe. We love mushrooms and green peppers, so I sautéed some along with the onions and used venison sausage. Also used a package of frozen spinach-thawed and squeezed the water out thoroughly. I split the recipe between two casserole dishes, baked one and put the other in the freezer. It will go in the rotation, per request of DH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I didn't change anything and it was stupendous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoustonLil
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States