Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Absolutely fantastic. I've made other breakfast casseroles from this site before and this one is the best. The cottage cheese gives it a totally different texture but not flavor. Much better than the egg/milk combination. I used 10 eggs and added mushrooms and sweet pepper, but those were my only changes. Do not change a thing -- just add to it. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDMEWS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Not a big lover of sausage so used 1 lb. ground beef/pork combo. Sweated a whole medium onion & three cloves of garlic and added 1 tblsp of crushed rosemary & 2 tblsp of sage to meat add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
My husband and I LOVED this recipe! Instead of cottage cheese I added sour cream and right out of the oven I topped it with salsa! It was delicious! My husband will definitely be begging me to make this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelso!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
so easy. I made a 'crust' with the shredded potatoes and butter and browned it first in the casserole dish. While that was going, I browned the sausage with onion and poblano. Then I mixed all the wet ingredients. I layered the sausage mixture over the potatoes and topped that with a thin layer of salsa I happened to have. Then I poured the egg mixture over it and baked for about 35 minutes until the egg set. It's VERY good. It's sort of like a breakfast version of a shepherd's pie. I make breakfast for the week on Sunday, but because this is so good, it's only lasting until wednesday. I followed DivineHealth's tips for using the cottage cheese and cooking the onions with the sausage. Her review is very thorough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Wow was this GOOD. My husband loved it. The green chilies are a must. And it's high-protein, low carb. Now I am wondering if I could substitute sausage with tuna? or try seasoned hamburger for a Mexican flare? hmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was a perfect Sunday breakfast for a weekend at our cabin. I substituted potatoes O'Brien in stead of shredded potatoes. Also added crunchy bacon bites. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Loved this as is. Great casserole for a brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
If you can't find a store that carries carrageenan-free cottage cheese, then substitute the cottage cheese with a carrageenan-free brand of sour cream. Tastes fantastic! I cut the amount by half when substituting, but the whole amount should work great too. I also double the onions because onions are so healthy and give an extra punch to the finished flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This was good. I felt like the egg mixture could've used a little more seasoning, even with the sage sausage. A little salt and pepper or something. I didn't think of it until after it was in the oven. Overall very good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Loved this dish. Served it to weekend guests and there were no leftovers. For ease of preparation I used frozen, thawed hash browns instead of shredding my own. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: La Grange, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States