Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I've made this recipe twice and both times I served it, it was thoroughly enjoyed. This is the first "breakfast" casserole that I've ever liked. It's delicious. For the sake of time I used frozen hash browns in place of shredding the potatoes myself. I learned that this "improvised" step works best if you thaw the hash browns in the microwave, then mix them with the melted butter. I also baked the hash brown/butter mixture both when frozen and when thawed, for 20-30 minutes, and I honestly don't think baking it separately even matters. I only used three cups of hash browns, but if you want to push that mixture up the sides of the pan, you'll end up with spaces between the the hash browns, so for this step adding another cup of hash browns may eliminate that problem. I've cooked it for an hour, and also for close to an 1.5 hours. I enjoyed it both times, but I feel the consistency is much better when cooked 20-30 minutes longer than the one hour called for in the recipe instructions. If serving this to guests, cooking longer than one hour may be better, since the resulting "thicker" consistency may be more pleasing to most palates. Though I haven't done it myself, I truly think that this will turn out well if you follow the recipe, making no additions/changes. The combination of flavors is very pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I've made this probably 10 times at this point. This time I used the leftover christmas ham instead of sausage. It was so good! I use bagged shredded potatoes. I always bake them in the pan first and add a little creole seasoning to the potatoes. The rest of the recipe I follow exactly as above. I highly recommend this breakfast casserole. It also heats up really well for breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
excellent I used 3 cup shredded hash browns mixed with the butter and flattened out in bottom of 9x13 glass dish. cooked in oven at 375 for about 25 min. while cooking 2lbs bob evans maple sausage and 1/2 large sweet onion and med green bellpepper let that cool. changed egg count to 12 large eggs & 2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar cheese.cottage cheese same as recipe. Placed sausage over hashbrowns then added mixture and covered and put in fridge overnight. baked in the morning at 375 for approx 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This dish is so tasty and easy. I used turkey sausage to lighten up the calories a bit, 8 large eggs because I never have jumbo, and 1 tbs of onion powder because i cannot eat onions. Came out beautifully. Boyfriend said it was excellent. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made this Christmas morning, and my entire family loved it! I added green peppers and onions to the hash brown mixture, and used 9 eggs, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krysta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Tried Christmas morning...this is the best breakfast casserole I have ever tasted!!!! I was worried about the cottage cheese but not a problem. Give this one a try, you will love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is soooo delicious!!!!! I added green pepper & a little ground mustard. This is exactly what you want a breakfast casserole to taste like! Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bigjohnhersey2
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Great meal for the children. They really love it when we add bacon on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This is definitely one of the best recipes I've tried in a long time!! I followed it the letter except for one thing, no potatoes because I'm on a low carb diet. I found it easy to prepare and bake and it was a total hit at our family celebration. Thanks William Rossbach!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi50

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
love this. I also make it with spice sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Burt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States