Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 24)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I brought this to work for a brunch during the holidays and it was a huge hit. I had several people ask me for the recipe. The only thing I did different was use sharp cheddar instead of mild. I made it again at Christmas and used frozen hash browns. I made the sausage mixture except for the eggs the night before then refrigerated it and the frozen hash browns. The next morning I made the hash brown crust, added the eggs to the sausage mixture and assembled. I had to cook it an additional 5-10 minutes but it made it quick and easy for the hectic morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this for my family on Christmas morning both last year and this year. I actually prepare the ingredients the night before and pop it in the oven first thing since it takes about an hour. Since I've only made it on Christmas it makes it more special. I didn't change the recipe at all and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Loved this recipe overall, but made a few changes. I used O'Brien potatoes so didn't need to add the recommended amount of shredded onion. Like another reviewer, I baked the potato layer for 30 minutes and refrigerated overnight, then finished the dish the next morning. I also salted and peppered the egg mixture, and crumbled 1 pound of cooked bacon on top for additional flavor (this made it very pretty as well.) When I make it again, I will double the amount of sausage, as it seemed to have more potatoes than it needed, and although this might make the potato layer look a bit scant, I don't believe that would be a problem at all. This was very popular at my recent family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was fabulous! I made it for dinner tonight. Unfortunately I didn't have onions, so left them out but threw in some chopped portobello mushrooms for texture and added the extra eggs as suggested. The family was very happy, next time I make it I will have the onions on hand, I really wouldn't change a thing, very good, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Served this at Christmas day brunch. My family and I loved it. I didn't have any cottage cheese so I made it without. But I bet you it would taste even better with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great w/ bacon also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious! Made this for Christmas brunch and everyone loved it! Even thought we were all full, we wanted to keep eating it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Good basic recipe....Great recipe when we added seasoning, green onion, bell pepper & jalapeno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley
Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Tioga, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Fabulous dish - took it to a pot luck and got raves and requests for the recipe! Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made two of these for a brunch my wife was serving to 14 neighbor ladies. They loved it and most asked for the recipe. For the record, I used sour cream instead of the cottage cheese (which I didn't have) and I don't think it had a negative impact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ Paul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 231-240 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States