Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 22)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this on christmas morning everyone ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is fantastic. I used Simply Potatoes shredded hash browns and sauted the onion with the sausage. Next time, I am going to use sharp cheddar and try southwestern shredded potatoes. Cooked it for breakfast for Christmas morning and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Delicious!!! Made just a couple changes... Instead of adding the onions to the eggs I added them and finely chopped sweet pepper to the potatoes.. I browned and seasoned the potatoes on the stove top the night before and then layered everything. Also I added bacon bits on the top. Because it came out the the refrigerator and was cold increased cook time to 1h 35min. Cover the first hour. Everyone loved this dish on Christmas morning! It was filling enough for us to make it until an early dinner but not too heavy. Will make again, may try other variations of cheese and meat for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent recipe - my guests all had 2 and 3 helpings :). Followed the recipe as closely as possible using reviewing advice to brown potatoes, sautee the onions and use additional eggs (9 large eggs initially). Here what I discoverd. - Used Simply Potatoes - Sotuhwest Seasoned was all that was left at the store - preseasoned added a nice flavor. - Only had 2 square pans available so increased proportionally - used 4 cups of potatoes. Forgot to add the butter to the potatoes and added after 10 minutes by drizzling. Left in a total of 20 (which is NOT enough..) -Added diced leftover ham and one additional egg to 1 pan - this slightly eggier version was definitely better -When reheating them today I used a fry pan and ended up actually browned the potatoes - WOW a nice difference!! Next time I am going to leave the potatoes in the oven until they are truly BROWN - excellent flavor. However recipe was still great even with the lesser cooked potatoes - the browned ones just added a extra touch - but I love all fried potatoes soo.... This recipe has infinite possibilities can't wait to try a vegetarian version as per a previous review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I served this for Christmas breakfast this morning. Everyone liked it, and they all came back for seconds. My son won't eat onions, so I sauteed them before adding them to the mixture. That seems to make a difference to him. Next time, I'll add diced green bell peppers, and maybe even some canned green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I put this together Christmas eve. I used frozen hash browns and baked them 30 min at 350,mixed the other stuff in a bowl and refrigerated everything. Baked it Christmas morning and everyone loved it, especially my newly pregnant daughter-in-law. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
YUM! Changes: I used chicken and turkey breakfast sausage, 8 extra large eggs, fresh sage, pepper and a Trader Joes smoked cheese mixture. Teenagers and adults both enjoyed it for Xmas brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Within

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
i added 8 eggs and added less cottage cheese. baked the hash browns first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This turned out great even though I did not have everything...No sage sausage at the store so I added some sage from the spice rack to regular sausage. Forgot to add butter but did spray baking dish beforehand. I did not have cottage cheese so left it out. I suggest a bit of milk as a sub. Used 8 large eggs & some salt and pepper too. Browned the sausage well in a large fry pan, spooned it out then pitched in the hash browns and browned them up a bit then lined the baking dish with them, pressing them down. Pour in the rest, pop in the oven, set the timer, go open Christmas presents, timer goes off, set dish to cool, pop in some biscuits. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steve
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
My sister just made this and it's fantastic. She has made others in the past and this one is her favorite. I will be making this too. It's not just for Christmas any more, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 211-220 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States