Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I seldom make "breakfast" type casseroles but while attempting to do the low carb thing with my diet...this recipe popped up in the search. I made it with some changes that others suggested in their reviews...added a couple of eggs and cooked the onion with the sausage. I used one package of the "Simply Potatoes" hash browns as the base as well. I also added some gruyere cheese with the cheddar. Not only was this casserole delicious last night for dinner...but it tasted just as great reheated this morning! WIN. Now I will put the leftovers in the freezer in single portions and see if the flavor manages the freezing process just as well. All in all a stellar recipe which I recommend whole heartedly. A hint on your cheese....grate it yourself, while this adds to the work a bit it will melt much more nicely. Those pre-packaged grated cheeses often dry out a bit or have an ingredient incorporated that helps prevent sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I added jalapenos, increased the eggs to 8, and used mild breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Quick, easy, delicious!! Need I say more?? Even my picky children love this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_rain86

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This recipe is quick and easy. We usually make it after church, but we love it anytime! We typically used diced onions instead of shredded, but other than that it's amazing just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I'm not a big fan of breakfast casseroles but this recipe was really good! The only modification I made was using frozen hashbrowns because I used all the potatoes in a soup the other day. Also, I cooked the sausage the night before. Next time I would like to cook the sausage then caramelize the onions to make it easier in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is an excellent dish to cut up and take to work! I've been trying many breakfast items lately to satisfy my hungry husband at work and this has become his new favorite. I've found that using 4-5 cups of potatoes makes a better crust (use another Tbsp. of butter) and as someone else suggested, I bake the potato crust for about half an hour while I prepare the rest of it. My only other change is adding some seasoning with garlic powder and S&P to taste. This casserole also works very well with leftover ham or a Cook's ham steak. After it cools, I cut it into squares, put those in plastic sandwich bags, and my husband just heats it in the bag for a minute in the microwave at work. This is a very yummy breakfast or lunch dish that I will continue to make for years to come! Oh, and some hot sauce or fresh salsa adds a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Hender

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melissajjp787
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I didn't change a thing. This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Fantastic recipe, seriously so good. Every time I make it, I'm surprised! The only changes I make is only 2 tbls of butter in the potatoes and I add whatever veggies I have on hand into it. Perfect as written though. Make sure you thoroughly drain & press your potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Omg! This was sssooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This recipe is great. My family really enjoyed it for dinner. I made a few changes, I added garlic and used sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States