Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
My family and I absolutely loved this, and it was easy to make. I used spicy sausage, and next time I think I will add some diced red and green peppers to spice it up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This recipe is EXCELLENT. You had me at "sausage and egg." A few modifications - Used 7 jumbo eggs, added chopped onion and green pepper to potatoes. Like other people, I used frozen potatoes and that was fine. I did not use ANY butter, just sprayed the pan with butter flavored non-stick spray and it was perfect. Like others did, I cooked the potatoes onion and pepper for about 25 min before pouring the egg/cheese/sausage mixture on top. This was so wonderful in every sense - smell, taste and it looks good too. The egg part has the consistency of a quiche so next time, I might toss in some broccoli and bake it in a pie shell. This makes a full pan, so you'll have lots to share. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Croton Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I have made this a couple times now with a few tweaks and everyone enjoys it. The main thing I do differently is I just slice up baked potatoes and line the bottom of the greased pan, season well, and bake until lightly brown while I cook the sausage, onion, and green peppers (my addition). To assist with browning I use a light mist of cooking spray on the potatoes. I stick with 6 eggs and slightly less than 16oz of cottage cheese, but I use a 9x9 instead of 9x13. It does take longer to bake than recipe calls for in my oven as well. Next time I might even add some mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
It was very good but bland. I added a lot of spices too. Next time I will add more. Husband and son loved it though. I also made a seoond batch with sauted mushrooms and onions. I liked that one even better and it is vegetarian.I think it was the teriyaki sauce that I used on the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Love it a recipe with real ingredients nothing synthetic - YUM!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe is simple and awesome. I followed it to exactly as stated above, except half monteray jack, half cheddar. I could bump one of these out in minutes if I had a food processor but I only had a hand grater but it was worth the work. If you're on a diet then keep shopping for a recipe. Perfect superbowl food. It would also be good for a family breakfast. I doubled the recipe and Im freezing one, see how it turns out after being thawed. If I remember I'll post back about my frozen results. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was good. I would add more potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for: simple to put together and delicious! Made it a day ahead and cooked the next morning. I added diced red and yellow peppers with the onions and cooked them with the sausage. Perfect for brunch for a group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PSBIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Not bad, but a bit bland, and I used onion powder (we don't do onions much in our house), garlic powder, and salt and pepper both with the eggs and the hash browns. I also, as did others, baked the hash browns separately before adding in the egg. I did use homemade shredded potatoes--it gave me an excuse to use my new KA shreder attachment. :) In my experience, however, I usually have to bake potatoes much longer than most recipes indicate. I baked them the night before for 30 mins, then this morning poured the egg over and baked for almost an hour. This worked well. Our only complaint, as I said before, is that it's still somewhat bland so we used ketchup. I'd add more spices next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Fantastic - I shredded the onion with the food processor before the potatoes. Added a bit of onion to the crust. Baked the crust for 1/2 an hour by itself. Added the rest. It was awesome. My two picky kids didn't even ask for ketchup, and my picky husband who usually eats only a little had FOUR peices! A win all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 682) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States