Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Excellent! We have used this recipe countless times! It was great on Christmas morning. I used 8 large eggs instead of 6 jumbo. I also didn't use any onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I read some of the reviews beforehand so had a plan for our tastes. First I made the breakfast Sausage per Lee Fogle on allrecipes using ground turkey from Costco (7%fat). It was a hit so I saved what was left-almost 1# for this casserole; I've been looking for a good breakfast casserole like this for some time. My adaptations: 4 cups of frozen potato shreds (defrosted in the microwave), I put the butter in the pan & melted it in the warming oven, then added the potato shreds & pressed them into the pan & cooked it @ 375 while I prepared the rest. I browned the sausage, onion, & some red & green bell pepper together. I used 8 large eggs, 8 ounces of sharp cheddar cheese, & a carton of 2% cottage cheese, & mixed these together. When the sausage was browned & the onion & peppers soft, I added them to the egg/cheese mixture. Because all of this was warm (except the cheese) when I started, the cooling time was shorter, 45 min or less. 375 degrees worked well for cooking in a glass 13x12 inch pan. One bite & family comments were - really good! Even the picky grand daughter liked it. I'd like to try a slimmer version using 1% cottage cheese, 2% sharp cheese, & half egg whites for the whole eggs. I'm betting it would be just as delicious. This is really a great recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
My family loved it with a few changes. Several will not eat cottage cheese, so I baked the hash browns for 15 min while browning the sausage with onion. Drain and spoon on top of hot potatoes. Then I used 8 large eggs beaten with 1/2 pint of milk, salt, pepper, dash of red pepper and paparika. Mix in 1/2 the cheese. This mixture was poured over the potatoes and sausage. The rest of the cheese on top. I baked it covered at 375 for 40 min then uncovered for last 20 min. Let cool for 5 min before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was a hit at Easter brunch. Easy to put together ahead of time. I used frozen hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Made this for Easter Brunch and the family just loved it. I used 4 cups of frozen hashbrowns thawed. Added a little seasoning salt and pepper to them and pre-baked them for 15 minutes as others have suggested. I used regular bulk breakfast sausage browned well, about 8 oz of freshly grated sharp cheddar cheese and 8 large eggs in the filling. Baked for an additional 45 minutes and removed from the oven. Added about 2-3 oz additional cheddar cheese on top and covered with foil. Let rest for 5-10 minutes before serving. Excellent flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Happy Easter! Made this early this morning for our Easter breakfast prior to church. Everyone loved it! Wish the potatoes were a little crunchier, but I'll bake them for a while next time before adding the rest of the ingredients. I also cooked the onions with the sausage. I'll probably use more onion next time too. Thanks for a great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This has become a holiday family tradition for us at Christmas and Easter. I use a sweeter sausage, like Maple, and double the cheese. One 12 oz bag in the casserole and one on the top! Broil it at the end for a few seconds to get crispy cheese... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I used Polish sausage and red onions instead. I cooked the sausage and red onions together with seasonings and all mixed together it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jekka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
LOVED THIS! I did however use cream of mushroom soup in place of the cottage cheese because my family does not like cottage cheese. I had considered using sour cream but didn't have enough, may try it next time. 6 eggs was just right for my casserole and I used frozen hashbrowns. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was different than the usual breakfast casserole I make and we loved it! I used 4 cups of shredded potatoes and 8 jumbo eggs instead of 6. I also used hot style breakfast sausage instead of the sage flavored. We will definitely be making this again. 10/19/13 I have made this many times and I am now using thawed OreIda hashbrowns. They taste the same as using the fresh and save me a lot of time. I also add a little seasoned salt to the potatoes and bake for 20 minutes by themselves. I then add the egg mixture and bake another 40 minutes. Perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 640) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States