Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I had frozen tater tots so I used them instead of the shredded potatoes. Increased the eggs to 8. Added green peppers with the onion. Added diced tomatoes on top. It was delicious!! Everyone loved it. Especially with some hot sauce! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
i went to a ladies church luncheon yesterday and this was made and it was awesome. similar to what i make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Yum! The only modifications I made were to saute the onion with the sausage as in some of the other reviews and I used frozen shredded hash browns(thawed and pressed). My husband and I thought it was very tasty. Would definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is really yummy. I made it with more potatoes - probably 4-6 cups and added the onions to them and baked for about 30 min first. I also added 2 more eggs just because I needed more to feed my family. It is a little bland. But we just sprinkled a little salt on each serving and that was great! I can see that you could do lots of variations with this: different cheeses, bacon, adding veggies (I'm thinking broccoli!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This is a really great recipe base. Like other reviewers I made some changes and used a lot of them already suggested. I added mushrooms, green pepper and 10 eggs instead of 6 (I know 8 was also suggested but with the added ingredients, I needed more eggs), sharp cheddar cheese and I added about a tsp of salt and a tsp of garlic salt. I sauted the green pepper, onion and mushrooms before adding them to the egg mixture. Since I live in the UK, the frozen shredded hash browns aren't readily available here. Instead I used a bag of patty hash browns (like the ones you can get at McDonalds), fried them and smashed them up. It worked really well! I may try it again with the shredded potatoes but I'm liking my accidental discovery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was just ok my family didn't really like it but it was worth a shot maybe next time add a little diced green pepper and more potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Hate bread sausage stratas! Hate them so when I came across this recipe that uses potatoes instead of bread, I had to try it. I liked this recipe but it didn't blow me away. I like to give the rating on the original recipe but when I make the recipe again, I'll alter it to my own taste. So the next time I make this I will add some more spices (salt, pepper, paprika) and I'll use ham just to try something different. But I highly recommend that you try this recipe. It is yummy and I agree with the recipe's creator. It is a great dinner entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
As is, I would rate it about 3 stars, but it could be a 4.5. It wasn't as flavorful or as moist as many casseroles are. It definitely needs salt and pepper. I'll probably add more eggs next time as I used the 6 jumbo and it still didn't taste very egg-y. I may also brown the onion with the sausage next time. I definitely enjoy that there is no bread, and everyone who ate it liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
My husband and I loved this for dinner. Cooking is an art and some folks have trouble with the idea that everyone has different brush strokes. Make this as you prefer and quit whining about how you had to change it. SO WHAT.Good cooks do that as a matter of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
What a fun recipe with which to be creative! No reflection on the original recipe, but I like to add my personal touch to anything I make, as probably do a lot of other cooks. Just a great basic recipe that can be changed up with minor changes in the ingredient selection. After reading some of the many comments, may I make some suggestions for some to try: Bland? Use hot sausage. Quick tip: I have found frozen hash browns with the onion and peppers already in them. Try different cheeses - swiss, for example. Try different meat mixtures - maybe even Italian sausage. Jut so many ways to change up this recipe. Experiment, and have fun! Five stars from me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States