Sausage Bowties with Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
We Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
It was perfect. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
It's a nice light flavor pasta dish. Perfect for the summer. My husband does not like cream sauce pasta so this is a nice substitute of having marinara sauce all the time. I would make sure the sausage cook completely through though before tossing all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
To make this dish more healthy I used turkey sausage and whole grain penne pasta. I didn't have fresh broccoli so I substituted frozen. It turned out great. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was amazing! I completely forgot to pick up shallots, so I used half a vidalia onion instead. Those who did not use broccoli rabe...you missed out! Broccoli tastes nothing like rabe. I halved the amounts of pasta, rabe, and red pepper. I ended up only needing a splash of water at the end to moisten. I'll def be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skaparker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This dish was so easy to prepare. I used frozen broccoli because I forgot the fresh stuff when I was at the grocery store:( I did not add any pasta water to moisten as suggested and liked the clean taste without it. I will definitely make this again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momma_s
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
We all really enjoyed this recipe. I used regular broccoli, one fresh red pepper that I sauteed (in butter) before adding pre-cooked link style hot Italian sausage. I also used tri-colored spiral pasta since that was all I had. It was nice having a pasta that wasn't heavy on seasonings or sauce, but still had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
We used regular broccoli instead of the rabe and regular white onions sauteed instead of the shallots (just had to use what I had). It was great! It was a nice change from the regular old thing. Many recipes are boring, and I find I have to play with recipes to make them more interesting. Not with this recipe though, the spicy sausage and other ingredients are all you need for full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
In my small towns, they never heard of broccoli rabe. So I used broccoli. The flavors of this dish are wonderful - the richness of the artichoke with the slight sweetness of the roasted red peppers and the saltiness of the sausage... very nice. The broccoli gives it a nice contrasting color, too, making it very pretty. It helps, too, that I could serve it in one of my favorite pottery dishes. The only difference I made besides the broccoli rabe was I used fresh Romano cheese as that is what I have open. My husband and son gave it a four but I give it the full five! I will definitely make this again - especially when I have guests over. It's pretty, simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I wasn't sure about this recipe because I have never cooked anything with artichokes before but we were pleasantly surprised. Only thing I did different was add some soy sauce on top after being served into bowls. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States