Sausage Bowties with Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
My store was out of broccoli rabe, so i used spinach instead. All six at dinner were crazy for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This was good. I substituted with spinach, turkey sausage, fresh red pepper, and red pepper flakes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
With all the ingredients listed, you would think that this pasta is very heavy. Everything blended together perfectly; not too heavy of a meal and not too light. I personally made only half the amount of farfalle pasta listed. Perfect dinner with a delicious taste! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERPARK253
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
this was good! i just had fresh broccoli so i used that. i didn't have any red peppers so i added tomatoes instead. i also added feta cheese and a little parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Wonderful flavors. This was the first time I have ever had broccoli rabe - it was quite expensive, and it must be an aquired taste. It was ok - - -. But the rest of the dish was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLTOONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I wasn't sure about this recipe because I have never cooked anything with artichokes before but we were pleasantly surprised. Only thing I did different was add some soy sauce on top after being served into bowls. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
In my small towns, they never heard of broccoli rabe. So I used broccoli. The flavors of this dish are wonderful - the richness of the artichoke with the slight sweetness of the roasted red peppers and the saltiness of the sausage... very nice. The broccoli gives it a nice contrasting color, too, making it very pretty. It helps, too, that I could serve it in one of my favorite pottery dishes. The only difference I made besides the broccoli rabe was I used fresh Romano cheese as that is what I have open. My husband and son gave it a four but I give it the full five! I will definitely make this again - especially when I have guests over. It's pretty, simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
We used regular broccoli instead of the rabe and regular white onions sauteed instead of the shallots (just had to use what I had). It was great! It was a nice change from the regular old thing. Many recipes are boring, and I find I have to play with recipes to make them more interesting. Not with this recipe though, the spicy sausage and other ingredients are all you need for full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momma_s
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
We all really enjoyed this recipe. I used regular broccoli, one fresh red pepper that I sauteed (in butter) before adding pre-cooked link style hot Italian sausage. I also used tri-colored spiral pasta since that was all I had. It was nice having a pasta that wasn't heavy on seasonings or sauce, but still had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This dish was so easy to prepare. I used frozen broccoli because I forgot the fresh stuff when I was at the grocery store:( I did not add any pasta water to moisten as suggested and liked the clean taste without it. I will definitely make this again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States