Sausage Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
This was really good. Even better the next day. It reminds me of wedding soup. I served with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese, and it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Love it! Strong flavors, hearty texture. Read reviews first and added extra carrots, barley and garlic as others mentioned. Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This is a hearty very tasty soup! My husband and I loved it. I will definitely make it again. I would add another 24 oz of broth. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This recipe was delicious! I followed the advice of some other reviewers and used 8 cups of chicken broth (instead of 6 cups), hot Italian sausage, fresh spinach, and I added mushrooms. I didn't add the fresh spinach to the slow cooker until an hour before it was done so it was no so soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
DD complained about the "yucky spinach " as she ate the whole thing. the spinach flavor was not very noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Pretty good soup. Not one of my favorites, but pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
A wonderful winter warmer. I added 8 oz of sauteed mushrooms, tripled the barley and used a little cornstarch to thicken it. I also used fresh spinach instead of frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Excellent! I used hot turkey sausage, doubled the barley and garlic. Delicious with French bread. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This soup is VERY tasty. I used chicken sausage, extra carrots and added a few potatoes and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Wonderful soup! I used hot Italian sausage, added an extra carrot and doubled the barley, per reviews. Next time I will substitute kale for the spinach because it does hold up better to long cooking (spinach was indeed a little slimy). This was pretty spicy so I imagine you could use sweet Italian sausage and add a small amount of red pepper flakes to spice it up just a little if hot sausage is too hot for your taste. We loved it and will definitely make this again. A great crock pot recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States