Sausage Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
DD complained about the "yucky spinach " as she ate the whole thing. the spinach flavor was not very noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Pretty good soup. Not one of my favorites, but pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
A wonderful winter warmer. I added 8 oz of sauteed mushrooms, tripled the barley and used a little cornstarch to thicken it. I also used fresh spinach instead of frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Excellent! I used hot turkey sausage, doubled the barley and garlic. Delicious with French bread. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This soup is VERY tasty. I used chicken sausage, extra carrots and added a few potatoes and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Wonderful soup! I used hot Italian sausage, added an extra carrot and doubled the barley, per reviews. Next time I will substitute kale for the spinach because it does hold up better to long cooking (spinach was indeed a little slimy). This was pretty spicy so I imagine you could use sweet Italian sausage and add a small amount of red pepper flakes to spice it up just a little if hot sausage is too hot for your taste. We loved it and will definitely make this again. A great crock pot recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I halved recipe using just 1 spicy Italian sausage (crumbled). As written, I'd have to give it a 4* (for our taste buds anyway). Ended up throwing in a chunk of parm cheese rind which really gave it a boost of flavor, but it was still missing something. Finally threw in a handful or two of cooked small shell pasta which really turned it into more of a stew ... but it was delicious. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
In one word, AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was a great soup! I used 2 carrots and wish I would have added more barley as I love barley but it was wonderful soup. The rest of the family added hot sauce to their bowls so I think hot sausage would be an awesome idea also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Dodds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Wonderful winter soup! Prepared as directed, except the barley. I Forgot to buy barley so we cooked rice separately and served over it. I read through some of the other reviews. I agreed over powering in spinach. Will add a can of diced toms next time and use hot or spicy sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Prospect, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States