Sausage Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This soup is VERY tasty. I used chicken sausage, extra carrots and added a few potatoes and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Wonderful soup! I used hot Italian sausage, added an extra carrot and doubled the barley, per reviews. Next time I will substitute kale for the spinach because it does hold up better to long cooking (spinach was indeed a little slimy). This was pretty spicy so I imagine you could use sweet Italian sausage and add a small amount of red pepper flakes to spice it up just a little if hot sausage is too hot for your taste. We loved it and will definitely make this again. A great crock pot recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I halved recipe using just 1 spicy Italian sausage (crumbled). As written, I'd have to give it a 4* (for our taste buds anyway). Ended up throwing in a chunk of parm cheese rind which really gave it a boost of flavor, but it was still missing something. Finally threw in a handful or two of cooked small shell pasta which really turned it into more of a stew ... but it was delicious. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
In one word, AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was a great soup! I used 2 carrots and wish I would have added more barley as I love barley but it was wonderful soup. The rest of the family added hot sauce to their bowls so I think hot sausage would be an awesome idea also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Dodds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Wonderful winter soup! Prepared as directed, except the barley. I Forgot to buy barley so we cooked rice separately and served over it. I read through some of the other reviews. I agreed over powering in spinach. Will add a can of diced toms next time and use hot or spicy sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Added 1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes and some fresh chopped safe. Crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
One word - yum. I am not a huge fan of sausage, so I wasn't sure if I would like this soup, but I have to say that I absolutely loved it! Perfect balance and blend of flavors. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Great cold weather soup. Just a few modifications, mostly at the suggestion of others. I doubled the Italian spice, doubled the garlic, added one can of chopped stewed tomatoes, one beef bouillon cube, and one can of drained northern beans. The beans are a must! It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trafalgar, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This was a good soup recipe. I had to use canned spinach instead of frozen because I didn't have any. The canned is never the same. I think if I make this again I will add more substance to this soup. There was too much broth for me and I like a hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shutchison6180

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearisburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States