Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
I have a diffrent recipie for these that uses 2 cups of grated cheese instead of canned cheese soup and I like mine better. I had to try it though and they were not really bad just messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I first tasted these when a friend of mine made them. I thought they were wonderful. I failed to get the recipe so I came home and did a search and found them on this site (joined up too). Only thing I did different was I used a mini muffin tin and they baked up wonderfully. This recipe actually made over 48 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
Very easy to make and very delicious. But I found the dough to be somewhat messy and sticky. Perhaps chilling the dough thoroughly might help but this is a definite repeat recipe at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I'm not too big on sausage myself, but I thought that this would be a great appetizer for Turkey Day so I gave it a try anyways. IT WAS A HIT!! Going by other users' suggestions I did alter the recipe a bit.. I used 1 cup of shredded cheese and 1 cup of the Cheddar Cheese Soup, also I sprinkled the top of the sausage balls with garlic powder and chili powder before sticking them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ada, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Canadian, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
These are great for breakfast. I use 3 cups of biscuit mix instead and I scoop them onto the baking sheet with two spoons instead of using my hands. This is the only thing my husband requested for Christmas morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I made these sausage balls with a savory sage sausage and they were eagerly eaten up by my extended family. My husband suggested they would taste great dipped in a warm mustard sauce which I'll definately try next time. I made these sausage balls two days in advance and then froze them. I baked them for an extra five minutes and they turned out fine. This helped shift prep time to far before my guests arrived.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I used bisquick, they were really sticky - would like to know what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I used the mini muffin also. I used hot sausage meat maybe a little bit too hot. Next time I'll mix 1/2 and 1/2 But I don't know what is buttermilk mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I first tried these at a party and they were more moist than my old favorite recipe....so I had to try making them myself! They are sticky when you mix them and hard to form into a ball shape because they cling to your hands, so another reviewer's suggestion of using a miniature muffin tin would be a great fix for that problem...or next time I might try refrigerating the dough for 30 minutes before to see if that firms it up any. The taste is great, but some extra shredded cheese might make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I used the 2 cups grated cheese instead of the soup. These are a big hit with the guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States