Sausage Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Great recipe! I can't keep my husband away from them. Couple of tips I found useful...mix the ingredients in a food processor! I have never had a problem with dryness and I think it is because the processor does a much better job mixing the ingredients and getting moisture into the bisquick that I could. Also, they normally take 20 - 25 minutes to cook. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I've been using this recpie for years except I add about 1/4-1/2 cup of milk (I'm never very exact when baking hehe) After I take them out of the oven I put them in a covered container with a towel in the bottom. It absorbs the extra grease from the meat and cheese and they stay warm if you're taking them to a gathering. They also stay moist like that. Mine are always a big hit and my Mother makes them the same way and hers always go fast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This is the recipe I have used for years to make sausage balls. I have always thought they were too dry though. My mother also made them this year only using a recipe that called for only 3/4 cup of baking mix. Hers were much better. You could actually taste something besides the mix. I would say make them with only half the mix and they turn out moister and with more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
VERY IMPORTANT: COOK/BROWN THE SAUSAGE FIRST IN THE SKILLET!! Then, while the sausage is still warm (and drained if desired), mix with Bisquick and cheese in bowl. Balls form easily and cook in oven for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I like this recipe the best of all I have tried. These are just right,not too dry. I sometimes use hot sausage and sharp cheese for a stronger flavor. One hint...I "warm" my sausage just a bit, 30 seconds, in the microwave. This makes it a bit easier to start mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
These were delicious. I took them to a Christmas party and everyone loved them. I doubled he cheese and added 1 tsp garlic powder. They turned out very moist and tasted good even the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This was simple to make, however the ingredients are all fairly dry so be prepared to mush them together with your hands. Also, to give it a bit more flavor, I use Sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
These are great. I've been cooking these for several years. I use an 8oz. jar of Cheese Whiz instead of shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Great recipe. I def use 1/4-1/2 C. Milk and add a little bit more cheese. I always get rave reviews when I bring these to parties and they never last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JWinslow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
They were quick but I thought they were a little too dry for our taste buds. I would probably not make these again. I didn't think they had all that much flavor, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States