Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
These are really good. I have a few pointers. Too make ingred. mix better together-- mix sausage with Biscuit THEN add cheese. The ball don't have the powdery white appearance and they mix easier. Also I like to cook these on parchment paper and they slide right off the paper. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
I learned how to make sausage cheese balls in high school and have used the same recipe for over 10 years. My family has requested these at every baby and bridal shower until I have gotten sick of making them and even eating them. The only difference in the way I make them and this is that I cook them longer. They really need to cook for up to 25 minutes. Otherwise you end up with raw sausage in the middle. I have tried different brands of sausage and it makes a difference. Some are greasier than others and some are drier. And I have found that Aberdeen sausage (spelling?) (it may be Aberdeen Farms) works the best. You can find it at walmart and it usually is the cheapest. If the ones on the edge of your pan end up dry just put all the sausage balls in a covered container and let them sit covered until they cool. The steam will help the dry ones become moist. I always cover mine to cool to hold in the flavor even if they don't dry out because it seems to make them taste even better if the flavors mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
These sausage balls were so good. With 6 children, I don't cook spicy for them, but I did add a bit of black pepper and some dried chives to add some flavor. However, I had to change the baking a bit. The first batch I made came out SOO greasy (of course using uncooked sausage), even after laying them on a paper towel to drain and cool. I took my cooling rack and placed it on a cookie sheet, then put the unbaked sausage balls on that. When they cooked, the grease dripped down through the cooling rack into the pan below. Because of the drippings, you will need to get a spatula to get them off the rack, but cooking them this way they have yet to burn!! I cooked them for 25 minutes or so instead of 10 minutes like the recipe says. After cooking them like this, my husband tasted them and said they were the best tasting sausage balls he had ever had. My children ate them as fast as I was making them!! I will be cooking them this way from now on. We had these for Thanksgiving appetizers this morning!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
706 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemyfamily09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I see so many reviews that say "this was dry.. not enough liquid", but if anyone actually read the instructions, they would see that nowhere it says to pre-cook the sausage. Its supposed to be raw. I guess the person who added it should have clarified that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
outstanding! i've made sausage balls before but these were especially delicious & got many rave reviews. i used hot sausage, extra-extra sharp cracker barrel cheese and grated it myself (i think this was the key), and the 2c bisquick. i made about 60 good size balls. i took the idea of some others and baked them on a wire rack over a cookie sheet to drain grease but also it kept them soooo moist! i baked at 375 for about 18 minutes. perfect! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
I tried this recipe but with one change..use stove top stuffing instead of baking mix..it adds so much flavor!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
The great reviews of this recipe saved me a lot of aggravation with this one... thanks everyone! I left the sausage out for about 20 min. before starting the recipe and finely grated the cheddar cheese by hand... those were the two best ideas from the reviews. Then you really have to get in there with your hands (those disposable thin kitchen gloves work great for this part) and knead the dough. It was kind of fun actually :) Also, as many reviewers have suggested, line your baking sheets with parchment. I had no sticking whatsoever. Finally, my own suggestion is to bake them longer than 10 min... I baked mine about 20 min., flipping them over after 10 min. This could partly be my oven's fault, but I'd say you'd at least want to bake for 15 min. There's nothing worse than an undercooked sausage ball... yuck! Anyway, the final results were very yummy and I've got a lot left over in the freezer ready and waiting for Superbowl Sunday!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
Delicious and easy! I even prepared everything the night before, let it set in the fridge and popped them in the oven the next morning...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
does anyone know how long they stay good and do they need to be fridgerated? thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I keep these in my freezer, thaw a few minutes and reheat at 350 for around 6-8 minutes. THEY ARE WONDERFUL. Tips: I use extra sharp cheddar hand grated, mix WELL with the bisquick in my Kitchenaid mixer, then add the cheese and mix it in. cook on a Pam-sprayed cake rack on a cookie sheet at 350 for 18 minutes. George Jones Hot Sausage is my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 640) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States