Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
These were delicious!!! My co-workers loved them too! I did follow the advice of others and grated my own cheese. I used Jimmy Dean Hot Sausage to give it a little 'kick'. I will use this recipe from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is one of my all time favorite snacks. Now my kids are older it's a demand to make espeically for each New Year celebration :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
The perfect recipe for traditional sausage balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I used hot sausage and sharp cheddar. We enjoyed the flavor but they are a little unappetizing to look at. Perhaps chilling first would help but they bake a little flat layer on the bottom that adds to the odd look and they are also pretty greasy(not surprising, I guess). They mix much better if the sausage is brought to room temp first. The leftovers seem very dry when cooled but reheating them seems to also "regrease" them. We ended up with about 90 of these even though I didn't feel I was too far off of walnut size. I would definitely halve it next time since I ended up with about two qt tupperware dishes full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Just made sausage balls for the first time ever, after reading many reviews and tips. I followed the recipe, using mild sausage and sharp cheddar, and tripled the recipe. The first batch, after baking for 25 minutes at 350* did not keep the ball shape, were more like biscuits and raw inside. The taste was also bland. Here is how I modified the recipe: • Rolled the balls no larger than a walnut, and put in a metal bowl. • Put the bowl in the fridge for 30 minutes and between batches. • Used parchment paper. ( Great stuff!) • Baked at 400* for 18 minutes • Cooled on a metal rack. • Allowed the baking pans to cool completely in-between batches Also, the next time I will use a spicier sausage or add some Texas Pete and ground red pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Hackley

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used the sausage and medium cheddar. Even using this the sausage balls were on the bland side and the Bisquick was too much. I suggest cutting back on the Bisquick mix by at least a 1/2 C. Next time I think I will also use some red pepper flakes and a true sharp cheese. IMO, if you make these you will definitely want to add some zest to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I'm being nice, I didn't watch the video but should have. I followed the recipe but not the video, should have followed the video, anyway my sausage balls came out flat, the cheese melted all over the pan, they all ran together,what a mess. Only thing I saw different in the video is, I didn't bring the sausage up to room temp. before i mixed the bisquick with the sausage. Oh well, back to the drawing board. Please if your going to post a recipe make sure you tell the little detail too, they are so important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Simple recipe, taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
The Holiday Season is officially here!! I've made my first batch of sausage balls. My daughter will be home from college tomorrow and this is the first thing she looks for. This is the same recipe I've used for years, using hot sausage and parchment paper....can't get much easier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I use 8oz of softened Cream Cheese ( keeps them moist), 8oz of shredded Sharp Cheddar and use Hot ground sausage along with the 2 cups of bisquick. They are so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States