Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
For a simple quick dinner these are great with sausage gravy for a dipping sauce. My DH did saw this made on a cooking show. When I read the reviews there, many said the recipe was dry. If you mix this in a stand mixer long enough it comes together like creaming butter & sugar. A spicier sausage ups the flavor too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Don't laugh, but I always made the frozen sausage balls. I just made these following the most helpful reviewer's tips. I mixed baking mix and sausage first, then cheese, then baked on parchment paper. My husband declared them "stupid good"... after he had eaten a half dozen steaming hot ones. Guess I can skip the frozen ones from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is the same recipe that my mom has been making for years. She adds 2 tbs grated onion and 1 tbs poultry seasoning to hers and they are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Best sausage ball recipe I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I learned how to make sausage balls from my mother,Betty P., many years ago. She told me that the recipe didn't call for any liquid. The recipe we use calls for Texas Pete Hot Sauce--I'm not sure about the measurement--maybe 1/8-1/4tsp. If you don't like this sauce,substitute another liquid even water. I've never really been able to taste the hot sauce in it myself. Be flexible when preparing this recipe. When you make it,you might find that it's drier than you expected. If so,just add a little more liquid at a time until you feel it's right. Don't be concerned if it's sticky cause you don't want it too dry. The liquid measurement can be anywhere from 1/8tsp up to even 1/2tsp. Humidity outside can make a difference. This recipe is easy to tweak until you feel it's ready. Any cook,regardless of experience,can feel like a pro who doesn't always need to measure every ingredient. Have Fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made these for a brunch meeting at work. I made them exactly as recipe stated. They had a good flavor but were really dry. Next time I will cut the baking mix in half and increase the amount of cheese. I probably will also add green onions for a little extra crunch and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
very good and very easy! The kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. I made them for a Superbowl party yesterday and was too embarrassed to bring them. They were dry and I did bake the sausage raw, not precooked. What makes them dry is the Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Very good! I doubled the recipe. I had about 2 1/2 lbs of homemade sausage. I used 2 bags of Bizquik Biscuit mix. About 2 1/2 cups. But that was too much.I wound up taking some out because I just couldn't see it needing that much. Maybe cutting back on it stopped them from being so dry? My second batch I mixed in some cooked diced bacon! WOW is that ever good! The biscuit mix I took out I made sausage biscuits with that, Little bits of sausage in it. Pretty good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madddawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States