Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I prefer to cook the sausage first so that my sausage balls are not greasy, and then add 1/4 cup buttermilk so they are not dry. It makes a wonderfully moist sausage ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dreamy885
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Pork sausage was on sale for $1/lb so I stocked up on it and found this recipe, it looked like something the kids would like. I took the advice of some of the reviewers and this is what I came up with: I left a pound of sausage out for a half hour or so, to get it to room temperature. I added 2 cups of biscuit baking mix to it and mixed with my hands. Then I added 2 eggs, some dried chopped onion, garlic pepper and salt, and finally about 2/3 of a block of cheese (shredded). I rolled them into balls and cooked them on a rack over a pan (I had to put foil on it and poke holes in it because mine were pretty small and almost fit through the cracks.) I baked them in my convection toaster over at 400 degrees for 18 minutes and they were PERFECT! Not greasy, cooked all the way through and golden on the outside. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I made these for our office breakfast party today. Co-workers raved, and several asked for the recipe. I used locally made chicken-green onion sausage and 2 c. of shredded Italian cheese mix. I'd suggest to back off a bit on the cheese, maybe 1-1/2c instead of 2 cups; as much as I kneaded it, some of it didn't get incorporated into the mix. Otherwise, it made a very picky group very happy - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is a great recipe! I've made it several times, but this time I took another's suggestion and used Pork Stove Top Stuffing instead of baking mix. It was very good. I think it did add more flavor. Just used 2 cups dry, mixed with the sausage and then added the cheese. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Micanopy, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
good but I like to add an egg for more moisture and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Simple. Easy. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Shane Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I have been making sausage balls for YEARS. This is the recipe that I have always used, except adding 4 Tablespoons of milk. I also use Jimmy Dean Hot sausage. People love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I was so excited to try this recipe....I followed this recipe EXACTLY & cooked these wonderful little nugents for 25 minutes as many reviewers recommended to avoid any uncooked sausage in the middle. They came out somewhat overcooked (no I didn't pre-cook the sausage) & a little on the dry side. Also, each ball had a little briwn Frustration that was attached beneath - maybe from the sausage grease while cooking? They needed some sort of sauce so we ended up dunking in ranch. I was pleasantly surprised with the amount it yields....about 50 or so. In the future I think I will cook for a shorter time or @ a lower temperature....hey everyone's oven could vary. Thanks for sharing!""
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
62 y/o Male in the kitchen and my wife considers me a work in progress. I made this recipe with no changes. I did use my Kitchenaid and a dough-hook which completely solved the mixing issue. I dropped in the pound of Jimmie Dean hot, used my scale to measure out 8oz by weight (4oz per cup) and just dumped it on top of the sausage, set the speed to 2, and walked off while I found a large jellyroll pan, parchment, pre-heated the oven, etc. I walked back to the mixer and dropped the one pound bag of shredded sharp cheddar cheese into the mixing bowl which now contained the fully incorporated bisquick and sausage. I let the mixer run for another 5 minutes fully incorporating the cheese into the mix and grabbed a cookie scoop. Onto the parchment, into the oven, and out to the cooling racks. No Drama, Great Outcome, and a new favorite. I just finished 6 sausage balls microwaved for breakfast, and you just gotta LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States