Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Always a hit at any party! Everyone's favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I gave it a full five stars because I think it has five-star potential but my first attempt wasn't as successful as I'd hoped. I followed the recipe amounts exactly. A few reviews suggested using a mixer or processor and, even though my baking brain was telling me too much handling would turn them into hockey pucks, I was sucked in by the ease of using my KitchenAid. I should have listened to my baking brain. They were definitely hockey pucks. Still edible but very dense. I used a small Pampered Chef scooper and got 70 from the recipe. I also let the sausage sit for an hour and shredded the cheese in the processor and let it sit for about 20 minutes to soften up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I think it's a great recipe. Mine didn't taste so good but I added italian sausage because that's all I had, not a good idea, it was not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Yummy finger food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I have made these many times using this exact recipe. KILLER. Can't stop eating them. Never any left after I make them for a party either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmacsaunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
1 cup bisquick, 2 cups shredded cheese, 3 tablespoons maple syrup, 1 pound breakfast turkey sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Our daughter made these for our Sunday School class on Mother's Day. Everyone enjoyed them and requested the recipe! Staci is a novice cook and she did an outstanding job. I had her crush a box of stove top dressing instead of adding the biscuit mix and added finely grated cheese. The dressing gave it more flavor and the finely grated cheese incorporated into the mixture easier. We had a few left over and they heated up well in the micro-wave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Barnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I've made these for 30+ years and have made some minor changes. 1. Hot sausage 2. Bring sausage to room temp. 3. I break the sausage into smallish pieces and put them on a baking sheet which I place in the middle of a cold oven. 4. Turn the oven on to 225 degrees. 5. Let it heat until the fat in the sausage begins to render; remove the tray and drain the grease. The sausage won't be cooked but will be very warm and kinda' gooey-ish. You can press a paper towel on it to soak up more grease. I replace some of the "lost" grease with a spoon or 2 of low fat cream cheese. Otherwise I follow the directions. For us this makes them a bit less greasy or heavy. In our 4 generation household they're a hit! One additional note. Sub in hot or mild Italian sausage. Sub in mozz, provolone and shredded Parmesan cheese. Add a little extra biscuit mix and a Tbl of milk, plus a bit of garlic powder and Italian seasoning. Prepare as above. Serve with marinara or pizza sauce. My grand kids love this at snack time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
For a simple quick dinner these are great with sausage gravy for a dipping sauce. My DH did saw this made on a cooking show. When I read the reviews there, many said the recipe was dry. If you mix this in a stand mixer long enough it comes together like creaming butter & sugar. A spicier sausage ups the flavor too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Don't laugh, but I always made the frozen sausage balls. I just made these following the most helpful reviewer's tips. I mixed baking mix and sausage first, then cheese, then baked on parchment paper. My husband declared them "stupid good"... after he had eaten a half dozen steaming hot ones. Guess I can skip the frozen ones from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States