Sausage Apple Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Awesome flavor! Used moz cheese. Cut open sausages and crumbled them when they cooked. Used 7 eggs and 2 c milk. Made one with crust and one without and I think it was better without the crust (in a greased pie pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Took it over to a friend's for Christmas Brunch, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This is so delicious! I love quiche and I'm always looking for new recipes - this one is definitely a keeper! I only made a few slight changes: I used 2 chicken apple sausage links instead (6 oz.), shredded asiago cheese instead of swiss, and half of a Granny Smith apple. It took a little longer to bake...I baked it for 20 minutes at 425 degrees then I reduced the temperature to 350 and covered the crust with aluminum foil so the edges wouldn't burn and baked for another 20-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I have gestational diabetes so I can't have pie crust. I made a potato crust instead. We also had a somewhat deep, glass pie dish so we used that. I shredded 4 small white skinned potatoes, mixed in 3tbsp of margarine, s&p, and nuked them for 5 minutes. I find this helps make them crispier when baked. I pressed them into the dish, bottom and sides, and put them in the oven for about 10 mins while we were preparing the rest of the dish. First time we tried this out, it had a nice buttery potato flavor which of course goes great with eggs. The sides were browned nice, the bottom not so much but it really did hold everything together. So definitely going to use this and tweak it for all future quiche recipes. We had Spolumbo's Chicken Apple sausage, took it out of the casing and cooked up 3 of them. Chopped up one Golden Delicious apple. We liked having chunks of sausage and apple rather then slices/whole. I used dried parsely cause thats what we had on hand. 1 cup of homo milk and 4 eggs fit perfectly in the dish. We also had Kraft Italiano shredded cheese and used that instead. We did everything else according to the recipe and it turned out amazing! So simple and so good, and I had great levels after. My husband and I had this for supper and ate half of the quiche. Had the other half for breakfast the next morning as well. With that said, I think it truly serves 4 people if you aren't having anything else with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Bravo! This recipe has become the focal point of my favorite breakfast (with whole grain blueberry muffins and a bowl of fresh fruit). There just couldn't be a prettier dish to set on the breakfast table in the morning, and the unique combination of flavors is a fun surprise for everyone. I've made it...oh, probably 35 or 40 times in the past year, and although it sometimes doesn't set up as well as I would like (maybe depending on the varying moisture content of the apples and/or the cheese?), it always tastes so good that no one cares! Even people who are skeptical of quiche have been enthusiastic. I have made a couple of minor changes: Since it certainly doesn't need the sausage for its protein or fat content, I just sprinkle 1/4 pound of browned turkey sausage into the bottom of the crust -- just enough to get some in every bite for the flavor. When I use a commercial frozen deepdish crust, I also cut the milk back to 1 cup; but in my own crust in a 10" pie plate, the full amount is perfect (but takes about 10 extra minutes in the oven).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I used what I had on hand - elk breakfast sausage which I browned and then added to the pie shell. Sprinkled on chopped scallions and medium cheddar cheese. Covered with the egg mixture (1 cup of milk), arranged the Gala apple slices around the outside edge pressing them down and baked as directed. This came out perfectly and was a hit with my husband and boys - a definite "Do-over"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi V

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I took this to a potluck and it was a hit, I had none left to bring back home. As others suggested, I did increase the eggs to 7, and used a pound of ground maple sausage, which made the ingredients perfect for 2 - 9" pie plates. I certainly plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozark, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was really delicious! My husband picked out the recipe and I made it for him and my in-laws ("foodie" people). I tried making it in a 9" pie plate and had some trouble fitting all the links in, so I would recommend the 10" plate as per the directions. We used the Original flavor links, but I would definitely try it with the Maple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Taking suggestions from others, I used two 9 inch pans and two crusts. We choose a pound of lean mild pork saugage to crumble and brown and put on top of the cheeses and parsley. This one pound was plenty for two dishes. It also ensured sausage in every bite. The egg and milk was not enough for two pies, so I increased the eggs to 7 and the milk to 2 cups. We used one and half large gala apples, snacking on the remaining apples while we waited on the quiche to bake. Because I used disposbale pie pans I placed them on a large jellyroll pan in the oven. When I reduced the heat I also put a crust shield (folded aluminum foil) around the pies to keep them from over drying and browning. It took about 15 minutes longer in our oven, which could be due to the extra pan under the pies and having two in the oven simultaneously. The quiche was very good. It had a sweet savory flavor that was accented by the salty crust and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Thumbs up from the picky husband who doesn't like quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States