Sausage Apple Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I think this would taste much better with cheddar cheese in place of the swiss and parmesan. I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
It fine once it was on a plate but getting it there was a real hassel. I think "Bob Evans", or whoever actually wrote this recipe, was dealing with a much deeper pie dish. In short be careful when adding the liquid because there just might not be enough room.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This is so delicious! I love quiche and I'm always looking for new recipes - this one is definitely a keeper! I only made a few slight changes: I used 2 chicken apple sausage links instead (6 oz.), shredded asiago cheese instead of swiss, and half of a Granny Smith apple. It took a little longer to bake...I baked it for 20 minutes at 425 degrees then I reduced the temperature to 350 and covered the crust with aluminum foil so the edges wouldn't burn and baked for another 20-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JMeisha
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Very good. My family loved it! I have a 5 year old and 2 year old who don't hardly like anything and they were sneaking pieces of the leftovers. I cut the sausage up so I could have enough for two quiches and there was sausage in every bite. I also sprinkled a little cheddar cheese on top. We will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I made a few changes: I used 1/2 cup cheddar cheese and 1/4 cup mozzarella instead of 3/4 cup swiss. I cut the sausage to 8 oz and used Italian sauage and used only half of a green apple. I also omitted the chives. It took a full 45 minutes to cook but it was worth it. Just enough spice to be good but not overpowering. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
my friends fought over the next piece then warred over the next quiche...(personally though i'm not a lover of any of my dishes).I made two quiches by going by someone else's review...7 medium eggs is perfect. i used 1 tsp of sugar and salt. about a tsp of basil pesto (cos i didn't have parsley). i used a lb. of reduced fat pork sausage instead of the links and i cooked a chopped granny smith and seasoned this w/pepper, some cayenne, and garlic. i think i could ended up having just about enough of the sausage/apple for a third quiche. I also only used a bag of preshredded mozzarella and had some left...but next time i'll use it all. Works well, like i said they loved it and want more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Taking suggestions from others, I used two 9 inch pans and two crusts. We choose a pound of lean mild pork saugage to crumble and brown and put on top of the cheeses and parsley. This one pound was plenty for two dishes. It also ensured sausage in every bite. The egg and milk was not enough for two pies, so I increased the eggs to 7 and the milk to 2 cups. We used one and half large gala apples, snacking on the remaining apples while we waited on the quiche to bake. Because I used disposbale pie pans I placed them on a large jellyroll pan in the oven. When I reduced the heat I also put a crust shield (folded aluminum foil) around the pies to keep them from over drying and browning. It took about 15 minutes longer in our oven, which could be due to the extra pan under the pies and having two in the oven simultaneously. The quiche was very good. It had a sweet savory flavor that was accented by the salty crust and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Took it over to a friend's for Christmas Brunch, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I don't like vegetable quiches, but this one was great! I used cheddar cheese (I'm not a fan of swiss), plain sausages, and a golden delicious apple, and it turned out great. Next time I may add more herbs (I like lots). I got 2 frozen deep-dish pie crusts filled with just one recipe. If you use frozen pue crust, don't pre-bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Ok, but not great. I like the flavors of apple and sausage, but it just didn't work well in this quiche. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States