Sausage & White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
My husband loved this soup. I removed the casing from the sausage(bratwurst), crumbled the sausage and browned it. I omitted the prosciutto, but in addition to the thyme added some dried rosemary and herbs de provence. This soup has become my husband's number one favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was freakin AWESOME! I omitted the prosciutto and celery and just used chicken broth and bok choy, I also added half of a rutabaga and some fresh spinach that I always have around, this really added some color and brought the soup to life. I will make this again. Thank you for the recipe if is a keeper and everyone needs to try this one!!! I also added a couple of pieces of bacon..... TIP: bok choy can be used in place of celery in recipes, PLUS, bok choy keeps much longer in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solar_biscuit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This soup is awesome! I used mild italian turkey sausage and it still had great flavor and cuts down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
My boyfriend and I loved this soup. I went exactly by teh recipe, and I wouldn't change a thing. It was a great meal to have on a cold rainy night, and for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Ok, my soup turned out awesome. Just made it! However I did make some additions and changes. I doubled the recipe so I would have left over’s for lunches throughout the week. Crumbled the sausage in the beginning and added about four cloves of garlic minced to the veggie mixture. Also used both fresh rosemary and thyme and did not add until I was ready to simmer with the chicken broth. Per a previous review I rinsed all the beans, and only used low sodium chicken broth. At the end I added several handfuls of fresh spinach and about 3/4 cup of cream. Yummy!!!! Top it off with fresh grated parmesan! I am giving this recipe a five even with all the additions because I think I would love it even with the simpler version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Great recipe. I just found it to be a little salty (probably with the sausage, etc.) and will use low-sodium stock next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This soup has become a family favorite! Partly because everyone had a hand in preparing it, and the other part is that it tasted like a soup from a fancy restaraunt. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halls, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ripley, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I absolutely love this! Creamy base acheived without a flour roux or added dairy by mashing the beans. I blended 2 cans in the blender, the other I left whole. A good chicken stock makes all the difference. This is my new all time favorite. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Very good. I will definately be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
INCREDIBLE (and easy)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States