Sausage & White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Excellent soup - just what my husband was looking for. I did add a couple of spices. A pinch of crushed red pepper, black pepper, a bay leaf, 2 garlic cloves and a splash of white wine. My husband had this soup while vacationing in Maine and this just about duplicates it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I usually make a soup every weekend. It lets us eat off it for several days, and as a working mom (with two jobs) I need all the pre-fabbed meals I can. I dont mind letting is simmer all day, so I used a one-pound bag of dried beans and turkey sausage. I soaked the beans overnight in the fridge (bag of dried beans saved $4). Browned the sausage and then took out of the pot and set aside. Since the turkey is so lean, I added a tablespoon of bacon fat to the juice and sauteed the vegies in that till they were soft. Then put in the DRAINED beans, chicken stock, seasonings, some extra pepper, a couple slices of smoked ham (because I had it in the fridge) and Garlic. Simmered on low for about 3 hours. Stirring every hour or so. Then used my stick blender to purree it a bit and tossed the sausage in and let the whole thing meld for another hour or so. Every time I came in from the pool to give it a stir, the house smelled better. My daughter had a REALLY fussy friend over and she actuallly ate a bowl at dinner (the teen who eats only PBJ) and raved. It was really good, hearty and satisfying. Served it with a crusty loaf for dipping. I will definately add this to my regular soup rotation. Next time, I may use a link of hot sausage along with the sweet that I used this time. My Sunflower market sells 14 flavors by the link in the deli, so experimentation is easy. Definately needs Garlic and maybe some potatoes next Time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Very Good, and simple. I used diced ham instead of prosciutto and a few dashes of dried/rubbed thyme instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was pretty good! I made it as per the recipe, except I used ground thyme because I didn't have any fresh. I'll make this again, but I think next time I'll cut the sausage up into smaller pieces. It just seemed like slicing it made for really BIG pieces in the soup. I might take the sausage out of it's casing and cook it that way. I'll also add another can of beans. This soup was filling, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Very good recipe! Worked well in my slow cooker. I ended up using about 1 1/2 pounds of pork loin I had leftover from dinner the night before. Diced it up and added carrots, celery, onions, garlic and potatos. Lumpy pureed two cans of garbanzo beans and added with the broth. Also added two cans of black eyed peas. Cooked everything with some thyme, sage and rosemary in my slow cooker on low for 4 hours. It came out perfect and creamy. Everyone loved it and it was so nutrious and easy! Now a staple recipe in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Great recipe! I eliminated the prosciutto ham and in its place, I added Cajun Andue sausage and regular smoked sausage. Also, I started with a full bag of dry navy beans and soaked them overnight the old fashioned way. The soup was great and the andue sausage gave it a wonderful little kick. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lothian, Maryland, USA
Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
My husband loved this soup. I removed the casing from the sausage(bratwurst), crumbled the sausage and browned it. I omitted the prosciutto, but in addition to the thyme added some dried rosemary and herbs de provence. This soup has become my husband's number one favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was freakin AWESOME! I omitted the prosciutto and celery and just used chicken broth and bok choy, I also added half of a rutabaga and some fresh spinach that I always have around, this really added some color and brought the soup to life. I will make this again. Thank you for the recipe if is a keeper and everyone needs to try this one!!! I also added a couple of pieces of bacon..... TIP: bok choy can be used in place of celery in recipes, PLUS, bok choy keeps much longer in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solar_biscuit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This soup is awesome! I used mild italian turkey sausage and it still had great flavor and cuts down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
My boyfriend and I loved this soup. I went exactly by teh recipe, and I wouldn't change a thing. It was a great meal to have on a cold rainy night, and for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States