Sausage & White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This soup was very good with a few additions. Like some others, I used smoked turkey kielbasa, omitted the ham,added three cloves of minced garlic, cayenne pepper and cracked black pepper. No salt is needed as the kielbasa is salty enough. This soup tastes a lot like pea soup, but cooks up quickly and tastes great. I also drained, but didn't rinse the canned beans and it was just the right consistency! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I have big eaters in my family of 6, so I use 4 cans of white beans (whatever is on sale). I use turkey kielbasa instead of sausage as we usually eat a pretty lean diet. This is a great base recipe and I season and add vegetables as I see fit based on what I have in the fridge and what we prefer. Overall, very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Pretty good soup. I crumbled and browned sweet Italian sausage rather than cooking it whole. I also added garlic with the other vegetables. I let it simmer for about an hour and then added a few handfuls of kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very nice - used chicken sausage (not as much fat) and left out the prosciutto - added some fresh herbs and some salt and it was delicioso...would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pavia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Fabulous! The only thing I did was skip the prosciutto-like another reviewer said, "expensive and unnecessary." Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Excellent flavor! Used low sodium chicken broth and low sodium beans to reduce the sodium but still was a little salty for me. Not really any other way to reduce the salt since they don't make prosciutto or sausage with reduced sodium. Gave the leftovers to my mom and she LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This soup was great! Tasted creamy...but still healthy...and had such a rich flavor! I didn't plain Thyme, so I added "Herbs de Provence" which were delicious in it! I would recommend it. It has some Thyme in it, but you also get this delicious added hits of basil, marjoram, basil, bay leaf, and LAVENDER! I really enjoyed it. I used only 1 lb of sausage (and it was still a lot. I can't believe the recipe suggests 1 1/2) Anyways, I recommend this highly. And it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
yum! so rich! i actually slow cooked the beans with the chicken broth since I had an abundance of dry beans and added low regular low fat ham just for texture...the result ws finger licking and my children just loooved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This soup is amazing. You would be nut's not to try it. I made it for a family dinner where we all brought a crock pot and I made this. Wow what a crowd pleaser!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberNicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
It was very tasty but a little too salty. Next time I make it, I will omit the prosciutto and use only 1 pound of sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States