Sausage & White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I added some frozen spinach...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Minnesota_Girl
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Nice healthy hearty soup - used turkey sausage and added a small bunch of spinach. Mine needed a lot longer to simmer to get the carrots and celery tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This is pretty much a keeper, though I made a couple of modifications. Like many suggested, I left out the prosciutto. Though I'm a big fan, I did not think the extra sodium and calories were called for when there's already (a LOT of) sausage in there. My other changes: 1. After browning the sausage (for a bit more than 5 minutes), I deglazed the pan with a little white wine. Then rather than using the same pan for the veggies (soup's got to go in a pot, no?) I did them in my dutch oven, and added the wine with good stuff from sausage pan with the oil. (I didn't use oil to heat the sausage...but did use it for the veggies). 2. I added a zucchini because I like lots of veggies in my soups. 3. I ended up using two cans of garbanzo beans and one can of cannellini (another name for the Northern whites) because that's what I had on hand. I didn't like the consistency of the beans when mashed with a fork, so I threw them into a food processor. I also felt there were already enough beans in the soup after adding one un-mashed can, so I pureed a second can as well. Finally, I used my immersion blender when the soup was all ready because I still felt it was too "chunky." I didn't blend a lot, just a tad, and ended up really liking the consistency. On the whole though, an excellent recipe with really good flavors that is light enough for a not-very-cold night but still very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This was awesome! I didn't have prosciutto, so I used 3 slices of bacon (chopped) instead. I also used some spicy chicken sausage, and since I only had one can of beans, I added some diced potatoes for the 'bulk'. Threw in some minced garlic to the broth. This is really, really, good - and it takes like it took 3 hours to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was wonderful!! My whole family enjoyed it--even my 10 and 11 year olds. I altered just a couple items-- I rinsed the beans, only used one onion, and used bulk sausage. Otherwise it was the same--- and we loved it!! Thanks for submitting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Finally, a recipe for prosciutto that doesn't involve cream or asparagus! I actually didn't have any sausage either but it was still really good; should have made more though. Think I'll make it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Great soup. Used alfresco chicken sweet italian sausage, otherwise made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Maybe I have just been eating healthy, low fat soups too long, because I could practically feel the cholesterol accumulating in my arteries as I ate this. The amount of sausage in this dish (as well as the half and half I added at the very end to 'finish' it - my one recipe alteration) makes it a very hearty, rich soup - I was thoroughly full after eating a rather modest sized bowl. Still I wasn't as wild about this soup as I was expecting to be. It turned out incredibly oily and (to my palate) almost unbearably salty. I did make an error at the grocery store, and picked up 'Mild' italian Sausage rather than the 'sweet' or 'hot' versions specified in the recipe and this may account somewhat for the problem I had with salt and general lack of spice. I was also in a hurry when I made this and was not at all careful about draining the grease from the sausage. So I personally had some minor (and easily correctable) taste issues, but I will say that EVERYONE I served this to went nuts over it and told me repeatedly how delicious it was. The next time I make it though, I think I will completely cook and drain the sausage and remove as much of the grease I can before reintroducing it back into the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was a delicious soup! I made a few modifications: Used half of a maple smoked ham as the meat; added about 1/2 cup chopped green beans and about 1/4 cup 5% cream; added rosemary, garlic powder, and turmeric (for health benefits - doesn't change the taste, only the colour). I also used only a single onion, and it was more than enough - 2 onions would be a lot, unless you love the taste of onions. The family loved it; will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was good enough that my children forgot to eat their fresh pineapple! The few other times I'd served beans, they refused to eat them, so I was amazed that they plowed through these. Outstanding! Thanks for the great recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States