Sausage & White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was a quick recipe! I made some changes. I used smoked polish sausage, 4 cans of beans and 1/2c of chopped flat parsley. I did not need to add any salt either. This was a wonderful supper on a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Love this recipe! Thanks to the comments, I made some changes as well. I mash two cans of the beans using a pastry blender instead of one, I used ground hot italian sausage, I add a few splashes of half and half. At least 3 stalks of kale are shredded to ribbons and added with the other veggies, as well as 2 minced garlic cloves and a bay leaf (maybe a few shakes of hot pepper flakes if I am stuffed up as well). I omit the ham. When tasting before the simmering it appears bland, but do not be fooled! The flavors really come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Yum. I also added kale to make it more nutriticious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Wonderful and easy to make. Substituted vegetarian chorizo and just broth and beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This soup was amazing! I omitted the proscuitto and used chicken apple sausages I already had on hand. I also added an extra carton of stock, and also added some minced garlic. I used fresh thyme sprigs from my garden. I invited my neighbors over for dinner and everyone loved it. It was even more delicious in the days that followed, as leftovers. I would definitely make again. I served with 'bread machine rolls' from allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Super yummy and fast! I changed the recipe slightly by using ground sausage with sage. Came out great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I started with Gianelli Sweet sausage patties which I broke up as they cooked, drained the fat off and set aside. Course cut sweet onion and celery along with red bell pepper were sauteed in olive oil and were cooked seperately. I added the sausage and veg to a 32 ounce box of Swanson chicken broth and 2 cans of drained and rinsed cannellini beans and 1 can of chick peas. I made a roux and stirred that into my base along with 1/4 cup of light cream just because it was a snowy ,miserable November day in upstate New York and we needed comfort food. Oh, and to finish 4 small sliced garden tomatoes, tons of garlic and fresh cracked pepper.OMG it did the trick and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fabius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This recipe reminds me of what my grandma used to make when I was growing up. I like to put all my veggies in the food processor and chop them nice and fine so that way the beans are the more prominent thing you bite into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I didn't have Prosciutto so I used about 2 oz Panchetta. Using suggestions from other reviewers I also added 1 tsp rosemary and one can of petite diced tomatoes. We chose Hot Italian Sausage so no pepper needed. Also didn't add salt as there was sufficient in the canned beans and chicken broth. This was a lot of sausage so I added a 4th can of beans. The spices leaching from the sliced, browned Italian Sausage really added a lot of flavor to this soup. This was amazingly delicious. My husband rated this as our #1 soup but that was in the midst of polishing off his 2nd huge bowlful. Do remember to remove the excess grease after browning the Italian Sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Excellent comfort soup! I substituted black beans and it was a huge hit. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States