Sausage & White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This was a good soup. I stayed fairly close to the recipe--the major change being I used leftover baked ham in place of the sausage and prosciutto and used ham stock in place of chicken broth. I drained one can of beans and cooked longer than stated in order for it to get thicker. I ended up adding some garlic too. Using sausage probably gives it more flavor and doesn't need the added garlic. I thought it came out really well, and I think my husband is going to really like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by sarahlulu
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Changed a few things but overall this is a great base recipe, thanks. Used veggie stock (by accident, I didn't read the label til after I bought it) and Turkey kielbasa. I added a sprinkle of jerk seasoning, ginger powder and cumin. I also used dried white kidney beans which I soaked overnight but found the soup had to simmer for a good 3 hrs as the kidney beans take forever to soften up to my liking. Anyway it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Love it. I used turkey Italian sausage browned and in large crumbles rather than sliced. Didn't use any oil. Sauteed the veggies in the tiny bit of sausage grease that was left in the pan. Did not use prosciutto but did add about 1/2 red bell pepper finely chopped. Used food processor rather than fork on one can of beans. Also, I threw in some Kale for the last 5 or 10 minutes. This soup is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Love it! However I buy hot italian sausage and crumble it. I also skip the celery and the prosciutto. This freezes great! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Good. I used Hot Italian sausage. The consistency was plenty thick for me. Just make sure you really mash up the one can of beans, and put all the liquid from the cans of beans in the soup. I seasoned a little after. But definitely taste it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I've had this soup simmering for a while now. It smelled so good I couldn't resist sneaking a taste. It is amazing! I think the thyme really makes this soup go from good to great. The reason I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5 is because I think 2 onions would have been way too much. I only used 1/2 of a large onion and it was plenty. I ended up with about equal parts of onion, celery and carrots. I also added extra chicken stock, because it seemed like three can of beans was just too much.. I drained all of the beans then just refilled the cans of whole beans with water (I didn't add any water to the mashed beans). I didn't want that extra salt from the bean liquid. It is definitely salty enough from the sausage and the chicken broth. I also added some spinach at the end for some color. This is now one of my favorite soup recipes. Definitely not lacking flavor. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Good soup. I think next time I will add more beans though. Also only added 1 lb of sausage and it was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This turned out very well, despite my having issues with the sausage. I found it difficult to slice the sausage 1/4 inch when it was not cooked all the way through. I will probably make this again, but I will likely remove the casings from the sausage and brown it first that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Lehmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
loved this soup! I did follow the lead and added some heavy cream at the end to thicken it a bit and did blend a portion of the beans too. it was absolutely delicious. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIDOESLOANS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was a quick recipe! I made some changes. I used smoked polish sausage, 4 cans of beans and 1/2c of chopped flat parsley. I did not need to add any salt either. This was a wonderful supper on a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States