Sausage & White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Good. I used Hot Italian sausage. The consistency was plenty thick for me. Just make sure you really mash up the one can of beans, and put all the liquid from the cans of beans in the soup. I seasoned a little after. But definitely taste it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I've had this soup simmering for a while now. It smelled so good I couldn't resist sneaking a taste. It is amazing! I think the thyme really makes this soup go from good to great. The reason I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5 is because I think 2 onions would have been way too much. I only used 1/2 of a large onion and it was plenty. I ended up with about equal parts of onion, celery and carrots. I also added extra chicken stock, because it seemed like three can of beans was just too much.. I drained all of the beans then just refilled the cans of whole beans with water (I didn't add any water to the mashed beans). I didn't want that extra salt from the bean liquid. It is definitely salty enough from the sausage and the chicken broth. I also added some spinach at the end for some color. This is now one of my favorite soup recipes. Definitely not lacking flavor. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Good soup. I think next time I will add more beans though. Also only added 1 lb of sausage and it was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This turned out very well, despite my having issues with the sausage. I found it difficult to slice the sausage 1/4 inch when it was not cooked all the way through. I will probably make this again, but I will likely remove the casings from the sausage and brown it first that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
loved this soup! I did follow the lead and added some heavy cream at the end to thicken it a bit and did blend a portion of the beans too. it was absolutely delicious. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIDOESLOANS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was a quick recipe! I made some changes. I used smoked polish sausage, 4 cans of beans and 1/2c of chopped flat parsley. I did not need to add any salt either. This was a wonderful supper on a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Love this recipe! Thanks to the comments, I made some changes as well. I mash two cans of the beans using a pastry blender instead of one, I used ground hot italian sausage, I add a few splashes of half and half. At least 3 stalks of kale are shredded to ribbons and added with the other veggies, as well as 2 minced garlic cloves and a bay leaf (maybe a few shakes of hot pepper flakes if I am stuffed up as well). I omit the ham. When tasting before the simmering it appears bland, but do not be fooled! The flavors really come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Yum. I also added kale to make it more nutriticious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Wonderful and easy to make. Substituted vegetarian chorizo and just broth and beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This soup was amazing! I omitted the proscuitto and used chicken apple sausages I already had on hand. I also added an extra carton of stock, and also added some minced garlic. I used fresh thyme sprigs from my garden. I invited my neighbors over for dinner and everyone loved it. It was even more delicious in the days that followed, as leftovers. I would definitely make again. I served with 'bread machine rolls' from allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States