Sausage & White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This really does have a slow cooked taste and is incredibly fast and easy! I mashed all of the beans and it had the perfect consistency. I hate sausage casings, so I removed them, then browned the sausage before adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This recipe is an absolute keeper! I did not have the proscuitto to hand, so I used 3 pieces of cooked crumbled bacon instead. My husband is not a big fan of white beans, but he was willing to try it, and he loved it! Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Great Soup. Left out the ham and instead of meat sausage i took vegetarian sausage( available in grocery store vegetarian section)and browned it in oil and added this to the soup. Also added 2 bay leaves to the pot. Topped it off in bowl with salt and black pepper. Delish!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Loved this soup! I didn't add the prosciutto, and I may try it, but I'm not sure it needed it. All the sausage I had was hot country sausage, but Italian probably would have worked a little better. The soup and broth after simmering was quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
The flavor of the soup was great and easy to make. Next time I'll add a second can of mashed beans to thicken the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
WOW! Fantastic! This is the white bean soup recipe I've been looking for. I made a few alterations, but it turned out to be just as good as the Tuscan White Bean and Pancetta soup at my local gourmet market. I used only 1/2 lb. fresh sausage which I crumbled and browned in the first step, I chopped the veggies finely and I used a turkey stock I made after Thanksgiving using lots of fresh rosemary. I highly recommend adding in a fresh sprig or two when you simmer the soup- the flavor is great with the beans. Also, I pureed all 3 cans of beans in my processor until they were just chunky- this made the soup very rich and thick. If you want to be really decadent I think you could also stir a 1/2 - 1 cup cream or half and half at the end. Great soup, and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Had to substitute butterbeans for great Northern, but otherwise made it exactly as per recipe using the hot Italian sausage. It was unbelievably good - would never have thought that a soup so quick and simple could have such depth of flavour. Thanks for the recipe with compliments of Mr P!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Very delicious! I made a mistake of putting salt while sauteing vegetables. It turned out a bit salty but I added more water. It was very good with crusty baguette bread. I also added some oyster and cremini mushrooms that were in the fridge. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
We've made this soup several times since it first appeared last October. Tried it with regular ham and with country ham, but the prosciutto is best. Everyone we have introduced this soup to has raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States