Sausage & White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
We make this soup for family and friend functions, and we ALWAYS have requests for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Had to substitute butterbeans for great Northern, but otherwise made it exactly as per recipe using the hot Italian sausage. It was unbelievably good - would never have thought that a soup so quick and simple could have such depth of flavour. Thanks for the recipe with compliments of Mr P!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I made this one snowy afternoon. Very easy to make and oh so good! My husband and I ate on this for 3 days and loved every bite! Great with French bread or cornbread. I could eat it without any bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
We've made this soup several times since it first appeared last October. Tried it with regular ham and with country ham, but the prosciutto is best. Everyone we have introduced this soup to has raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I modified this by taking out the prociutto and using turkey sausage and green beans instead of carrots to make it South-Beach friendly. It was delicious and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
WOW! Fantastic! This is the white bean soup recipe I've been looking for. I made a few alterations, but it turned out to be just as good as the Tuscan White Bean and Pancetta soup at my local gourmet market. I used only 1/2 lb. fresh sausage which I crumbled and browned in the first step, I chopped the veggies finely and I used a turkey stock I made after Thanksgiving using lots of fresh rosemary. I highly recommend adding in a fresh sprig or two when you simmer the soup- the flavor is great with the beans. Also, I pureed all 3 cans of beans in my processor until they were just chunky- this made the soup very rich and thick. If you want to be really decadent I think you could also stir a 1/2 - 1 cup cream or half and half at the end. Great soup, and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
A great soup base. I omitted the proscuitto--expensive and not needed for flavor with the sausage. cut the chicken stock in 1/2 and added 1/2 & 1/2, chopped kale and 2 garlic cloves. Received rave reviews from my clients, they asked me to put it on my "keeper list" P.s. Canned beans are the only way to go and taste just as good or better in my opinion with the little time we have on our hands at night. Just be sure to rinse well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Loved this soup! I didn't add the prosciutto, and I may try it, but I'm not sure it needed it. All the sausage I had was hot country sausage, but Italian probably would have worked a little better. The soup and broth after simmering was quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
The flavor of the soup was great and easy to make. Next time I'll add a second can of mashed beans to thicken the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Very delicious! I made a mistake of putting salt while sauteing vegetables. It turned out a bit salty but I added more water. It was very good with crusty baguette bread. I also added some oyster and cremini mushrooms that were in the fridge. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States