Sausage & White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was a delicious soup! I made a few modifications: Used half of a maple smoked ham as the meat; added about 1/2 cup chopped green beans and about 1/4 cup 5% cream; added rosemary, garlic powder, and turmeric (for health benefits - doesn't change the taste, only the colour). I also used only a single onion, and it was more than enough - 2 onions would be a lot, unless you love the taste of onions. The family loved it; will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was good enough that my children forgot to eat their fresh pineapple! The few other times I'd served beans, they refused to eat them, so I was amazed that they plowed through these. Outstanding! Thanks for the great recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Family & friends LOVE this soup! It's so simple to make and the flavor is just incredible. Ate a similar soup when vacationing in Italy and have been searching for a recipe for it ever since. This is the closest I've been able to get. Only modifications made is omit the prosciutto, Crumble the sausage and brown, add a teaspoon of fresh rosemary, and mash up 2nd can of beans for thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Ast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I used a tube of sausage - the kind you would cut up to make sausage patties at breakfast. I also used three different kinds of beans: navy, great northern, and small white. I left out the thyme since I didn't manage to pick any up and I do miss the flavor of it. Other than that minor detail this is a really good soup. Nice textures and really great flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Delicious and super fast! I used Turkey Sausage (hot) and added garlic and spinach. I also pureed a can of garbanzo beans. Will make this again in the winter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I just made this was missing the celery and Proscuitto so I skipped the celery and added 6 strips of lean bacon in its place. I also pureed one can of beans with the chicken broth instead of mashing for a smoother texture. It was awesome, I used sweet sausage but wanted a little heat so added a couple dashes of crushed red pepper flakes to the soup for the final 5 min. of simmering. One tip, use fresh Thyme if you can the aromatic value boosts the flavor well, dried works, but the fresh is soooo much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is yummy! I used Chicken Sausage to save calories and added one box of frozen chopped spinach at the end. Will make again, again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekquirk
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
As far as soups go, this one was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Excellent!! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Excellent all the way through... definitely am making it again and sharing the recipe with others. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States