Sausage & White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Super yummy and fast! I changed the recipe slightly by using ground sausage with sage. Came out great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I started with Gianelli Sweet sausage patties which I broke up as they cooked, drained the fat off and set aside. Course cut sweet onion and celery along with red bell pepper were sauteed in olive oil and were cooked seperately. I added the sausage and veg to a 32 ounce box of Swanson chicken broth and 2 cans of drained and rinsed cannellini beans and 1 can of chick peas. I made a roux and stirred that into my base along with 1/4 cup of light cream just because it was a snowy ,miserable November day in upstate New York and we needed comfort food. Oh, and to finish 4 small sliced garden tomatoes, tons of garlic and fresh cracked pepper.OMG it did the trick and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fabius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This recipe reminds me of what my grandma used to make when I was growing up. I like to put all my veggies in the food processor and chop them nice and fine so that way the beans are the more prominent thing you bite into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I didn't have Prosciutto so I used about 2 oz Panchetta. Using suggestions from other reviewers I also added 1 tsp rosemary and one can of petite diced tomatoes. We chose Hot Italian Sausage so no pepper needed. Also didn't add salt as there was sufficient in the canned beans and chicken broth. This was a lot of sausage so I added a 4th can of beans. The spices leaching from the sliced, browned Italian Sausage really added a lot of flavor to this soup. This was amazingly delicious. My husband rated this as our #1 soup but that was in the midst of polishing off his 2nd huge bowlful. Do remember to remove the excess grease after browning the Italian Sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Excellent comfort soup! I substituted black beans and it was a huge hit. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I made a few changes to make it healthier. Instead of 1 1/2 lbs of sausage. I cut 2 spicy links out of the casings. Browned and then drained the excess fat. With what little grease was left I sauteed onions and thin slices of chicken breast. added carrots, one baked potato diced and only 2 cans of beans. Added some fat free half and half for a richer color to the soup.. It turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Good, fast and easy. I would make sure not to use sausage with fennel in it next time (since i don't like fennel and didn't notice it was in the sausage!) and I think I would rinse the beans next time since I found it a bit salty. But very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Delist dish. Make in Dutch oven soup pot. Add a splash of white wine when done browning veg. I used chopster to purée half the beans instead of fork mask (I think this eliminates the need for 1/2&1/2 some ppl added). Was delish. Don't skip the prosciutto, it's the perfect salty seasoning. Tasted like a grown up pea soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I added some frozen spinach...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Minnesota_Girl
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Nice healthy hearty soup - used turkey sausage and added a small bunch of spinach. Mine needed a lot longer to simmer to get the carrots and celery tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States