Sauerkraut for Canning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
This is almost identical to the recipe I use and have used for years. My grandmother and great grandmother also made kraut the same way. But I have never simmered the kraut or canned it. I simply keep it in cold storage - in my case a spare refrigerator in a different building. Now that my grown son and his family know where I keep it I may have to find a new hiding spot, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Bacon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I add one whole head of roasted garlic run through the food processor with a bit of water and salt from the recipe. That way it mixes in easily and disperses quickly. I use a 1/2 gal. jug that I pack tightly. Allow extra room for the cabbage to "Grow" a bit while it ferments. Once you get a nice flavor you can take it out of the jug and can it in mason jars processed for 20 minutes in a BWB. That will allow you to get the next batch started quickly, trust me once you get a taste you will never buy store kraut again. Make several batches for yourself and friends. I also add a Tsp. of mustard seed, fennel seed and 1/2 cup of vinegar to add some balance and zing to the salty sweet taste of the cabbage. Use the freshest and firmest heads of cabbage available, they should feel heavy for their size. A mandolin makes quick work of getting a uniform thickness in the cabbage. This Recipe, home made pastrami, rye bread and Russian dressing recipes make it a 100% from scratch home made meal, the wait is worth it. And I get to practice my favorite hobby which is preparing wholesome, fresh home cooked meals for my wife and son. Since I am a stay at home disabled dad I thoroughly enjoy those kinds of a challenge!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Beckett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I was really skeptical about making kraut, but this recipe was great. I put it in a large plastic container, covered it with the cheese cloth and in 2 1/2 weeks I had wonderful kraut. Another recipe noted that the kraut had been covered with an "old blanket", blocking out light that can cause foam. I did this and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I used a similar method as another Reviewer, "camprunfarm." Used the slicing disc on my food processor, packed in a food grade bucket (disinfected with a diluted bleach solution and rinsed really well). I used a plastic canister as a muddler to do the packing - this covered a lot of area instead of using a spoon or dowel. I always use sea salt. Topped with a heavy dinner plate and a jug of water w/lid to hold everything below the brine, and used an inverted large bowl as a lid for the bucket, then covered with a heavy bath towel to keep it dark. Checked it daily; no scum ever formed! I've packed it in individual jars before now, but with the jars you have to pack it down every day to keep it below the brine so nothing gunky will form. :-) Bucket method is awesome when processing 3 or more heads of cabbage at once, and you can get one at your local hardware store for only a few bucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clintonville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Oh, if only my husband liked sauerkraut the way I do! I love this recipe but it makes my husband fratchety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
great recipe. just one question. how do I keep mine from going brown?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen R

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I had my doubts, but it worked. The final product was relatively crisp and mild...and very salty. With a large batch it is difficult to gauge the cabbage weight, so I may have oversalted. I drained the brine and rinsed before cooking and it cut the saltiness, but diminished the taste a bit. It stinks while brewing, and the gasses produced from fermentation make the kraut volume increase a bit, so put it in a slightly larger container than you think it needs. Will stain plastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
try using sea salt you must be pre-warned the flavor is awesome you will be hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Thank you. I will never use store bought sauerkraut again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by impellizzeri kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ray, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Very easy, very good. I only made 25 pounds of it this year, and ran out before next cabbage season. I'll definitely make more of it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Sauerkraut Salad

Quick and easy salad with sauerkraut and vegetables. Great as a side, or on top o

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States