Sauerkraut for Canning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I was really skeptical about making kraut, but this recipe was great. I put it in a large plastic container, covered it with the cheese cloth and in 2 1/2 weeks I had wonderful kraut. Another recipe noted that the kraut had been covered with an "old blanket", blocking out light that can cause foam. I did this and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I used a similar method as another Reviewer, "camprunfarm." Used the slicing disc on my food processor, packed in a food grade bucket (disinfected with a diluted bleach solution and rinsed really well). I used a plastic canister as a muddler to do the packing - this covered a lot of area instead of using a spoon or dowel. I always use sea salt. Topped with a heavy dinner plate and a jug of water w/lid to hold everything below the brine, and used an inverted large bowl as a lid for the bucket, then covered with a heavy bath towel to keep it dark. Checked it daily; no scum ever formed! I've packed it in individual jars before now, but with the jars you have to pack it down every day to keep it below the brine so nothing gunky will form. :-) Bucket method is awesome when processing 3 or more heads of cabbage at once, and you can get one at your local hardware store for only a few bucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clintonville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Oh, if only my husband liked sauerkraut the way I do! I love this recipe but it makes my husband fratchety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
great recipe. just one question. how do I keep mine from going brown?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen R

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I had my doubts, but it worked. The final product was relatively crisp and mild...and very salty. With a large batch it is difficult to gauge the cabbage weight, so I may have oversalted. I drained the brine and rinsed before cooking and it cut the saltiness, but diminished the taste a bit. It stinks while brewing, and the gasses produced from fermentation make the kraut volume increase a bit, so put it in a slightly larger container than you think it needs. Will stain plastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
try using sea salt you must be pre-warned the flavor is awesome you will be hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Thank you. I will never use store bought sauerkraut again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by impellizzeri kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ray, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Very easy, very good. I only made 25 pounds of it this year, and ran out before next cabbage season. I'll definitely make more of it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by camprunfarm
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
So easy, so yummy! I use my food processor to do my shredding, and used a plastic container from my wine making kit(about a six gallon volume) to do the packing. A large plate was a perfect weight, topped off with a large plastic bag filled with salt water. This bag spreads out and seals the edges over the plate on the cabbage. I had absolutely no scum formation. I did use the lid that came with the plastic container, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was a first canning recipe for my husband and I. It turned out wonderful and we will make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States