Sauerkraut for Canning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
I am an old farmer from 'way back and have made my own kraut for years. This is the way I make it, except I don't use a crock, but pack the shredded cabbage directly into wide-mouth quart jars. Store at temperature of 60-70 degrees, covered with an old blanket to keep dark. (I store it in an outbuilding.)In six to seven weeks, we feast on sauerkraut and ribs. Makes about 18 quarts. I run the quarts through a boiling water bath for about 20 minutes to seal. (A 15" piece of 3/4" dowel makes a great tapper!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
394 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Anyone who loves sauerkraut will love this recipe...easy to do, and delicious. It's made just the way my mother-in -law has made it for years. I never buy store sauerkraut anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hotchie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I've been using this recipe for years and it always turns out great - except last year when I left it way too long and it got mushy :( I use kosher salt instead of canning salt, so have to use 4 Tbsp to get the right weight. I make the kraut in 5 lb. batches and mix it well in a large container as the salt needs to be evenly dispersed before packing in the buckets. I use a 5 gallon white food safe bucket (which holds up to 25 pounds of cabbage). I scrub it well, pre-rinse with a bleach/water solution and then rinse well with water. I weigh the kraut down with a glass pie plate and gallon jar with water in it. For more tart kraut, you can also add a cup apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
My husband makes this recipe twice a year. This recipe is delicious. It makes great gifts. Our friends love it when we give them a jar. We seem to never have enough on hand. In Pennsylvania, using fall cabbage is best, but since we winter in Florida we make a recipe in the July, then again in October, before we go to Floida.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by camprunfarm
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
So easy, so yummy! I use my food processor to do my shredding, and used a plastic container from my wine making kit(about a six gallon volume) to do the packing. A large plate was a perfect weight, topped off with a large plastic bag filled with salt water. This bag spreads out and seals the edges over the plate on the cabbage. I had absolutely no scum formation. I did use the lid that came with the plastic container, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Thank You! My neihbors are cabbage farmers who share thier 'spoils'. This is an excellent recipe for the cabbage that isn't used for slaw, kimchee, or other cabbage dishes! Thank You! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Best yet,better then any store bought.Very simple and well worth the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cochrane, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Super easy; my family and my church family loved this repcipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highfalls, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
try using sea salt you must be pre-warned the flavor is awesome you will be hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was a first canning recipe for my husband and I. It turned out wonderful and we will make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States