Sauerkraut-Stuffed Slow-Cooked Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I followed the recipe and added this. I used 2 cans of sauerkraut, what kraut I did'nt use after I stuffed the roast I surrounded around the roast in the crock pot. Then poured a bottle of my fav BBQ sauce over the roast and kraut and added about a half can of beer , I suppose broth or water would do or just BBQ sauce only. Cooked 8-9 hrs. Fabulous!! Served as a main dish. A couple of days later warmed the left overs and served on toasted kaiser rolls, even better!! The kraut BBQ sauce combo very flavorful with pork. Thumbs way up !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave's girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I followed this exactly as stated and I was really disappointed with the results especially when the reviews were good. It didn't taste much like anything and it was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Very excellent, next time I may add more sauerkraut so we can have it with the leftovers! I served this with homemade mashed potatoes with blue cheese, it was a total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This dish was absolutely wonderful and so very easy. My family and I are picky eaters but this one is being marked in the recipe books as one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This recipe was good and very easy. The only thing I did different was, I added a packaged gravy mix with water. The pork just fell apart. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was great, even my kids liked it. I shredded the meat and served it on buns. I used sweet bavarian style sauerkraut and cut up a few apples in it, they cooked away but added good flavor. I served this with homemade applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I used a pork loin with a bag of kraut, some onion, sliced apple and a little brown sugar--and some caraway. Next time a little more apple and brown sugar! Great with mashed poatoes and white gravy! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
My whole family disliked this recipe. I'm a slow cooker fan and use it a lot. I was a little cautious when the recipe didn't call for some sort of broth (or even water) to cover the pork, because it came out so dry and tasteless. I was really disappointed with this one....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
So easy. When I was working in the yard, I'd get a whiff of the sauerkraut but it didn't bother me...just made me hungry. My pork roast didn't need to cook as long, about 5 hours, maybe it was a smaller roast. It had one of those pop-up thingys so I knew it was done and I was glad because I'd been smelling it all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I was a little worried about how simple this was. 9 hours later while sitting at the dinner table with my family saying "Mom this is sooo good!" and the "Can I have more please?" I knew it was a hit! The meat just fell apart and the kraut was so mild and wonderful. We will make this often! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States