Sauerkraut-Stuffed Slow-Cooked Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Wonderful recipe but definately needs some help. I diced up a large onion and also shredded a med. carrot. Added about 20 whole peppercorns, 1/4 tsp. of fennel seeds and a heaping tablespoon of brown sugar. I placed these ingredients on the bottome of slow cooker. Instead of a roast, I browned portioned pork ribs in a very high temp. oven for 20 minutes. Then i placed them over the onion/carrot mixture and then i poured the sauerkraut over that with extra water. This is so delish......and easy and its worth it to put the extra effort into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ingrid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
The roast was really delicious. I usually just put the kraut all around the roast, but then the kraut loses a lot of its flavor. Never though to cut it dow the center. It kept the roast moist and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Delish! I couldnt fit all of the kraut so i covered the roast with the rest of it. Cooked for 8 hours and it was perfect, moist and flavorful. Even my husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
i made this last night and it was really good. it was so moist and tender. i let it cook for about 8 1/2-9 hrs. my husband actually shut it off when he got home from the field. i did add about 1/2 a can(6ozs) of beer.i think next time though i will let the kraut and roast sit over night together and let the roast absorb some of the flavor from the kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
i made this today and too add a little extra flavor like others suggested it need i combined this recipe with the kalua pig in a slow cooker recipe from this site which just added hawaiian seasalt and liquid smoke. we all enjoyed it very much and i will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
It is a nice recipe, but a bit too bland for our taste. I will use it again, but next time I will probably play around with spices to add a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This recipe is really easy! The kids loved it & husband. I was surprised (cause I don't even like sauerkraut). I made it for Fathers Day dinner cause husband really likes sauerkraut. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was tasty but not an out of the world recipe. I cooked mine overnight in the pot and it was very juicy and tender. However, I felt like the flavors were a bit too bland for me. I might make again just because it was so easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was definitly very very tasty and not too overpowering with the sauerkraut. I was surprised. The only thing was I kept it in for 9 hours on low, maybe I should've only done 8. Next time I'll probably shred it at 7 hours, and put it back in (shredded) on low for another hour so it soaks up the juices, because leaving it in straight through that long made it a little dry. Delicious, though, and I will definitly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blakr0seimm0rtal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I LOVE pork and sauerkraut AND I love my crockpot, but I won't do this again. The flavor wasn't too bad, but the pork dried out horribly. Now, keep in mind that I didn't turn the pork over because it was stuffed and mounded up so nicely... So, I'm not opposed to taking the blame here. Just wanted to share my experience/mistakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States