Sauerkraut-Stuffed Slow-Cooked Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I just returned from the midwest with a "real" pork roast, and was looking for a good recipe for it. I tried this one. I love sauerkraut, husband does not. He didn't even know it was in there. I followed recommendations of some others, including a whole onion, some liquid (broth), caraway seeds, and liquid smoke added. I thought that really helped. I agree with another reviewer that the cook time is way to long, although I also think my crock pot is super hot. The taste was ok, but the pork was a little tough, due to over-cooking, even though I cooked it less than recommended. Trying to up the taste level, I added a can of succotash I had on hand, as well as frozen corn. I served it over brown rice. Husband loved it. It wasn't spectacular, but good, healthy comfort food. Mixed it all together for lunch the next day, and put it pita bread. It was almost Turkish! Still have a ton of leftovers (there are only two of us), so I am going to try the suggestion of using gravy on it. Should be good. I am a Scandinavian, so didn't grew up with a lot of spice, and this would have fit right in. I love spice now, but don't mind a nice simple recipe reminding me of childhood now and then. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thor, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pinetop, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Really great recipe! We all loved it, even the kids who won't normally eat sauerkraut or cabbage. I only cook it about 7 hrs in my crock pot on low. Also, I always use bagged sauerkraut rather than canned, and drain and rinse it thoroughly. Sometimes I pour a can of beer and a 1/4 C brown sugar over it. I have also made it w/a can of cola (coke or pepsi) poured over it instead of the beer/brown sugar. I always serve it w/mashed potatos and there are rarely leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
The flavor was amazing but the ratio was terrible. I used fresh kraut from our local butcher and a little over 3 pound pork loin. There wasn't nearly enough sauer kraut for 6 people. Imagine dividing a 14 ounce can of green beans between 6 people...........9 hours on high in a crock pot is way over cooked. I did 6 on medium and it was falling apart tender. That could be a crock pot issue, but I think 9 hours on high in a crock pot is too much for anything unless you're cooking and entire pig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Tasted good, but was very dry. Would like tips on how to make this and not have it turn out so dry. I did serve it with homemade applesauce and sour cream. Hubs only issue was the dryness. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
loved the recipe, get tasting and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
tender? yes, easy? absolutely! good? eh, it was alright...maybe it was the brand of sauerkraut, but we weren't impressed. made bbq pulled pork sandwiches the next day with leftovers...eh, not wonderful either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
My husband loves sauerkraut and this recipe hits the spot and its sooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was delicious! Smelled so good in the slow cooker, came out moist and tasty. I did follow other reviewer's advice - added 1 apple, 1 onion (both cut up) and 1 tbsp. brown sugar.Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
great, easy recipe - added extra sauerkraut (20 oz jar- undrained) in crockpot, as we love the stuff and were serving more people. Did not drain the can of sauerkraut to make sure of plenty of liquid -the pork came out delicious and not dry at all. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I used a pork loin rather than a roast, chopped an onion and added it to the bottom of the crock pot prior to putting in the loin, and added 3/4 bottle of beer. This was absolutely delicious!! The meat was so tender and flavorful. Will definiely add this to the rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States